Coco De Paris – I Don’t Love You Anymore / Love Never Dies

Coco De ParisCoco De Paris is a pop singer songwriter looking to make an impact with upcoming debut single ‘I Don’t Love You Anymore’ and forthcoming EP ‘Love Never Dies’. Know her better…

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

 

It wasn’t simple. I didn’t grow up in a family of musicians or artists and I wasn’t supported  at this moment. I had to study and get a real job. My parents wanted me to be a Doctor, so I spent a lot of years trying to be “normal” until the desire of being who I really am, become stronger. I couldn’t find the inspiration I was looking for in France and after trying to form bands, meet wih producers etc..  I decided to come to London 6 years ago to follow my dream.  I always wanted to be a singer but I couldn’t face it.

London isn’t an easy market but the best in Europe to build your career.

I worked in different industries, learned English and I started to meet with musicians, to record music and performed in cafes and pubs while I was writting songs. I used my savings to record music. Then I got signed with a small management company,  they shelved me for 2 years, I left and now look at me, releasing my new single.  🙂

 

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

 

Can I have 2? 🙂

Firstly I would like to show that even with a strong accent you can make it in the Music Industry.  Determination, talent, passion etc.. don’t have a religion, color, gender, sexual orientation or even nationality. There are not enough non- English mother tongue speaking singers who succeed at a high level. Don’t get me wrong, I love the English language, and I also think that sonically the English language is probably the best for singing. That is why I came in London.

I sing in English but with my French accent. This is my identity . I would like to see more and more of this!

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

 

Everything started when I came in London about 6 years ago. After I started to get confortable in London, the inspiration came to me. So I would say that I write for 4 years only.  I didn’t know if it would come to me one day! 🙂

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

 

So many people influenced and influence me. So I guess I should give you the names of the ones that influenced me in my childhood:

1- Michael Jackson

I was in love with him! 🙂 I think I felt the same way as him: lonely, confused, unlovable and weird. I learned English by translating MJ’s Lyrics because I wanted to be closer to him, feel what he felt, love what he loved. This is how I got into music at the 1st place. So he is and will stay my biggest influence.

 

2- Madonna I loved her too so much. She was my role model. She opened doors for us women, telling us not to be afraid of who we are and encouraged us to have an opinion but also that it is ok to want something or someone etc.. LIFE. She was unafraid and that is what I admired her. She still is by the way!

 

3- Tina Turner Tina! Her voice and her story. There is this movie about her “Tina”, every single time I feel low I just watch it because it gives me strenght. She never stopped to believe. She is a fighter. I like to think that I am too. I really recommend this movie!

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

 

I want people to know that I am very proud of this song ” I don’t love you anymore” and that I am very sensitive about it as it is a real story and real emotion.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

 

I am an East London girl! 🙂 I live in Walthamstow nearly since I moved in London! East London has a lot of known or upcoming artists. The area does a lot for artists so I feel lucky! There is a lot going on in Shoreditch for example.

My new favorite venue is Cre8  because this is a all in 1 venue:  there is a radio East London Radio (ELR) where I will record a live session on their Soundcheck show, on Saturday 4 Oct, they also organise gigs. This is a very nice place with a huge bar all in wood, a huge outdoor place that they also use to showcase new artists and there is an art gallery and more. It is called cre8 and it is located in Hckney Wick!

 

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

 

Tinchy Stryder is from east London, and I think that Katy B too?

As very young upcoming: Tarig Wooding. He has played Michael Jackson in Thriller Live

www.facebook.com/WoodingT

 

Ben River I think is lives around Islington

https://www.facebook.com/BenRivermusic

 

8. Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

 

Follow me, like me, play me, see me live, check my youtube videos and you will discover my music and also you can get fresh updates about what I am up to.

Find me on:

www.soundcloud.com/coco_deparis

www.youtube.com/cocodeparisnow

www.facebook.com/cocodeparisnow

www.twitter.com/coco_deparis

www.cocodeparismusic.com

 

Leave a Reply

