Caleidra – ‘Start Again’/’Another Day’

Caleidra is back stronger than ever with the much anticipated debut EP ‘Another Day’. “The EP is about the spectrum of emotions a relationship can take us through. From intense joy to unbearable sadness, these songs show them all,” says Caleidra.

1.    How did you get your initial start in music?

I’ve been playing the piano since I was around six, and started singing lessons just a few years later. When I reached nine, I realised the only thing I ever wanted to do was to perform. I began to make advancements in my music and when I was fifteen, I wrote a song called “With You” for my music GCSE coursework. I played it to my teacher and my classmates, who loved it. It was posted on YouTube and the next thing I knew, a record label were interested in releasing it! It was a crazy few months being on ITV, BBC Radio in all the papers and teen magazines leading up to the release and led to me meeting some amazing people including my current producer, John McLaughlin who had worked with Mark Owen from Take That, Westlife, Busted, 911 and Shane McGowan from the Pogues.

2.    What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate vision would be to play my own music to an arena packed full of people singing it back to me. I think music can genuinely connect a group of people who have never met before. I get an amazing feeling when I’m singing on stage and can see just a few people relating so much to such personal songs I have written, so to times that feeling by a thousand is something I constantly dream about.

3.    How long have you been writing your own music?

I always wanted to write my own music, but for years I found it impossible to write anything with any actual depth and emotion. When I was thirteen, I experienced real loss for the first time in my life and so I turned to my piano and wrote a song about it. After that, the songs came thick and fast and they haven’t stopped coming ever since.

4.    Who are your top three influences and why?

Avril Lavigne has to be one because her song “Complicated” was the first modern pop song I heard and it was one that I sang constantly for what must have been years. I think Avril Lavigne was the artist who planted the idea in my head that I wanted to go into music.

Taylor Swift is a singer who I have listened to for almost the entirety of my teens. She is definitely a musician who I want to emulate in that she is massively involved in the creation of every single one of her songs.

In 2008, I went to watch Coldplay while they were on their Viva La Vida tour and it was the most amazing show I have ever seen. It was exciting and colourful and Chris Martin was unbelievably energetic. Coldplay are a massive influence to me because I am always working to show as much energy as they did when I’m on stage.

5.    Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

“Another Day” is an EP that has been written over a long period of time. One of its tracks was one of the first I wrote, called “Ask Me Why” from back when I was fourteen, and the latest song “I Should’ve Known” was written very late on last year. The EP addresses the many emotions you feel in a relationship, from energy and excitement shown in “Start Again” to the sadness expressed in “Another Day”. I recorded it in Glasgow with some amazing people: John McLaughlin, Dave Thomas Jr and Jud Mahoney who have worked with the likes of Michael Jackson and I am really happy with the way it sounds. It’s going to be released on 13th October and I’m massively excited for everyone to finally hear it!

6.    Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m from Manchester which is an amazing city. Musically, there’s so much talent here. My favourite venue in Manchester has to be the Manchester Arena. The atmosphere in that place is always electric and I’m always visualising playing there one day.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I played a show at an event called DryLive once, and one of the other bands that was playing that night were called Kassoma. The lead singer had an amazing voice, and their songs were totally amazing. I’d also recommend another band called Paisley Walls who played a concert with me at The Roadhouse – they are all really nice people and awesome musicians.

8. Give our readers a round-up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Twitter: twitter.com/Caleidra13

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Caleidra

YouTube: www.youtube.com/caleidra

Soundcloud: soundcloud.com/caleidra

Website: www.caleidra.com

Leave a Reply

