Akasha FX

Akasha FXElectronica artist Akesha FX recently released a new single called ‘Slave of Time’ – a mellow, electronic track that washes over you thanks to the excellent vocal and low key sound. Akesha FX is the project of Reel Me Records founder Kristian Townsend. Know him better…

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My music career started after being a dedicated ‘Free Party Head’ during the years of 1989 – 1994, there were a lot of illegal raves that were put on by a number of sound systems such as Circus Warp, Spiral Tribe and DIY and after a few years of commited partying, following the systems around the UK, I was enchanted and eventually felt that getting behind the decks was a natural progression.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

There are a few aspects of being involved in the music industry I aim for, firstly, my aim is to enjoy producing music, getting my thoughts and emotions out creatively, it is essential for me and then once i have done that my next aim is to try and share that music with others with the wish that they can understand where I am coming from and can relate to that feeling, it does not really matter whether it is 10 or 10,000 people, the feeling of that understanding is a great feeling especially when the music I write is very personal to me. I have DJ’d in raves from 10 to 10,000 people and I have to say, it does not matter how many people are there, it is the feeling of being connected that I love.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Around 1991, After I had been DJing for a few years, I decided that it was time things to the next level, I loved the feeling of DJing my own tracks and it could really help me sculpt more personal sets.

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

I am quite lucky in that one of my biggest influences is also my best friend, producer Darren Beale, we must have released over 150 tracks together under a variety of names since 1991 (Orca, Alpha Proxima, Ways & Means and more) but he also produces his own projects, all of which have been graced with his midas touch, Decoder, Kosheen and more recently Dubspeeka.

The Orb were a huge influence on me, coming back from parties, chilling out still feeling the weekend, they produced some amazing soundtracks to some pretty etheric journies in my mind and then there was early Shamen and their En Tact album, wow, tracks like ‘Hear Me Oh My People’ were just made for mind travel.

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Its a very personal track with conscious lyrics by a friend and Trinidadian Wordsmith ‘Coreysan’. I love being able to use my influence in music to promote an idea of reflection through sound or lyrics, especially when it doesn’t seem to happen much in certain elements of music genres now a days, the track is about being in the moment, realising the now instead of getting wrapped up in being in a rush with no self reflection and missing out on life itself.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in Bristol, UK and I am sure I am not the first musician to say that I LOVE my city. There is a real vibrancy here and there are thriving scenes from electronica and dance to singer songwriter. It is a very bass heavy city which is expressed in everything from Dub Reggae up to Drum & Bass and everything in between, it suits me down to the ground.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Dubspeeka, Eats Everything, Seventhly, Laid Blak, Alonestar, Michelle denny, Eva Lazarus, Dub Mafia, Three Kings High, Dr Meaker, Mr Benn.

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can check all my projects on Facebook, for breaks, electro and so on just type in /waysandmeansmusic, for electronica, deep house and techno type in /akashafx and for singer songwriter type in /reelmerecords, that’s the same for Soundcloud and twitter too, lots of promos, free tracks on all accounts so get involved!

Leave a Reply

