Herrington Codner

Having impressed with urban reggae LP ‘Real’ earlier this year, Canada based singer-songwriter Herrington Codner returns this winter with single ‘Justice For Freedom’, which wil be released on November 25th.

1.      How did you get your initial start in music?

I started in music when a scout type recruiting personal from the Ontario Conservatory of Music came to our home and my mother thought that is was a good idea for us ( my brother and I ) to take music lessons so that we could one day play for the church; my brother currently plays for the church, as for me I am still finding my way.

2.      What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim is sky is the limit; realistics are to be recognized as a professional singer song writer and performer and literary scholar.

3.      How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing music forever and a day; before I finished my first year of guitar lesson at the Conservatory I wrote a song and presented it to my music teacher, he said it was OK ; but that it sounded like something that was already being done; so from that day on until now I have tried to write and compose what I believe to be uniquely me.

4.      Who are your top three influences and why?

It is hard to say`; if who I like as musicians apply then I will say 1) Bob Marley because I can take his music anytime of the day; and before all the others he was first introduce to me musically. 2) would be Ludwig Beethoven; not only because he has the coolest name but also because of the depth of his music, its character and the passion that goes into the development of his music and the themes that it represent; and there is Michael Jackson; the artistry and grace that he expose in such dynamic performances and the control that expresses through his vocal delivery, I tip my hat to those three musicians.

 

5.      Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release is for each individual to enjoy in their own special way; it gives you a rhythmic flux that is top end reggae twisted with my Ragwire flavor . In a nut shell it is saying be yourself through all your travels because justice is freedom and in order to have one you must have the other ; it is both the back and front door to love and peace. What else should we ask for ? If we have “ Justice for Freedom” then everything else should fall into place. 

6.      Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favorite venues?

I am based out of Brantford Ontario Canada; it is where the telephone was invented,also Home of Wayne Gretzky one of Hockey’s greats . The local scene is quite vibrant for a small town’ there are quite a few bands and singer songwriters that passes through; not excluding a three day Jazz fest along with other musical festival that happens every year. My favorite venue is Two Doors Down, it offers live music seven days a week; my next is Cat N Fiddle but it is in the distant neighboring  city of Hamilton Ontario.

7.      Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Sharon Musgrave; Felicia Mcminn; Mark Wilson and the way it is;

 8.      Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music?                                                                                                                                                           

www.codner.ca                                                                                                      

http://www.reverbnation.com/codner

Leave a Reply

