Nana D v Jordan Crisp

Ghanaian artist Nana D teams up with producer Jordan Crisp for new track ‘Ngoma’. Released on December 2nd, the unique collaboration fuses together electronic dance elements with traditional African drums.

Watch here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRwMhIyK-wg

1.      How did you get your initial start in music?

Nana D: I was introduced to the music business from my god mother Carroll Thompson, who is known as The Queen of lovers rock. She was one of my biggest inspirations. I also met up with the Godfather of Hip Hop culture Afrika Bambaataa who played a role and encouraged me keep doing music.

Jordan Crisp: A friend of mine introduced me to his cousin who had a studio and he would let me use it when he wasn’t there. Ever since then I haven’t wanted to do anything else.

2.      What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Nana D:  My ultimate aim is to use music/film as a tool tell stories and push musical boundaries.

Jordan Crisp: I would love to get my music heard by as many people as possible. I like to push boundaries between something current and something that has never been heard before so just want people to enjoy my music as much as I enjoy making it.

3.      How long have you been writing your own music?

Nana D: since I was a kid a long time ago lol

Jordan Crisp: I started when I was about 13-14
4.      Who are your top three influences and why?

Nana D: Afrika Bambaataa is a big influence cause, he among other people pushed boundaries, musically and socially  and created something amazing, Hip Hop culture!!!

Prince is another person who has amazing talent where only a few like him still remain and also had the foresight to adapt to the digital age.  Woodkid is a very big inspiration cause he is a filmmaker/artist like myself combining music with visuals. This day of age you cant get away by just creating music!!!!

Jordan Crisp: Timberland has always inspired me because of his use of drums using sounds that you wouldn’t expect to work and making them work.

Busta rhymes was one of the first artists I remember having on tape that opened my eyes to the possibilities of what you can do with a vocal.

Daft punk were the people that really got me into doing electronic music some of the most iconic synths came from these guys and I’ve always wanted to own my own flashing helmet since seeing these guys live!
5.      Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Nana D: The current release came about when I teamed up with Jordan Crisp, once we did the track. I flew over to Tanzania to shoot the video, everyone on the video came about through Facebook. The video for it was to give a snapshot on African culture and also to show people the role on how Africa played a role on modern music and dance  and vice versa. Lets take it back…….

Jordan Crisp: Well we are looking to release it early December please share with friends your support is much appreciated!

6.      Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Nana D: I’m primarily based in the UK but have ties in East Africa and Ghana and the middle east. While I’m in the UK I go to the Hootnanny in Brixton every 3rd Wednesday of each month for a Zulu nation Jam session where singers, rappers and musicians jam under one roof for free!!!

Jordan Crisp: I’m based in South London I suppose it’s pretty good. Brixton is always a cool spot to go out to if I’m gonna go local but I like to get out of London and go to clubs I’ve never been to because you never know what you’re gonna get.

7.      Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Nana D: In the UK I listen to the hip hop group Caxton Press, In terms of Africa I’m loving Nneka, Blitz the Ambassador and Kwanza Unit’s Zaiid

Jordan Crisp: I would advise checking out Rufio summers great new artist doing new school blues. Definitely worth a listen.

8.      Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Nana D: You can follow me on twitter @mynameisnanad,  facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nana-D/11165757729 and Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzhCoifjIrFWXgNYRzOBaMA/videos

Jordan Crisp: You can follow me on twitter for the latest updates on what I’m doing @officialjcmusic and listen to more of my music atwww.soundcloud.com/jordancrisp

Leave a Reply

