The Dice

The Dice Press Release PicThe brainchild of Beetroot Records head honcho Alfonso Araujo, The Dice is a dark, quirky collaboration project that brings together some of the brightest up and coming artists in the urban-electronica field. Their debut EP ‘Double 6’ is out December 2nd. Know him better…

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I always remember my father’s vinyl collection. He always used to play the banjo track from the deliverance soundtrack really loud. Other than that it was my mother’s piano. I always used to play it by ear and make a lot of noise. When I was in high school we formed a band of indie music called Stone Garden which took me to different experimental projects, by then I knew how to play keyboards, guitar and bass. Then in the late 90’s I started mixing electronic music at raves and parties all over Venezuela and some parts of Europe which took me to a 15 year old career at it, bringing me to the UK where I started producing in London studios. From that I decided to launch my label Beetroot Records, an eclectic label which intends to release underground music on vinyl. When I started sharing with other artists I decided to build my own studio, which lead me to create The Dice.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?     

To be able to keep going making off your head music and be able to have the satisfaction of seeing the people enjoying it. I would also love to play gigs all over the place.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Well, since high school but actually dedicating myself only to my own project has been around 3 years.

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

This is the question that I always hate and have problems answering. Why? Because I love so many artists that have influenced me and I can’t find a way to make the fave list. I am a vinyl collector and I have always bought all sorts of music, I like old and new music. I could say my favourite genres, like hip hop, funk, blues, rock, dub, reggae, ragga, jazz. But I could say I really love Massive Attack, Portishead, Can, The Slits, The Kills, The Fall, all of the Sugar Hill Gang releases, and a lot of Howling Wolf ……can’t stop really!

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The whole album will be a recollection of different types of music, old school beats with new sounds, electronic sounds with acoustics and different types of singers. I don’t want to get stuck in a concept. I used old and new equipment, hip hopers, punks, jazz singers, etc.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in London and I have always thought London is the best scene in the world (that I know of). However Berlin is amazing also. Venues: KOKO, Shepards Bush Empire, jazz cafes among others. Big venues need big sound engineering and I haven’t been lucky enough to enjoy gigs at big venues – apart from Prince at the O2. I love Festivals, maybe more than venues.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

The Fall, The Kills, Caxton Press, Pest, Mad professor, Lee Scratch, The National, Dub Pistols, Asian dub foundation…

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

soundcloud/beetrootrecords

Leave a Reply

