Daryl Kellie

??????????????????????1.      How did you get your initial start in music?

I got started when I was a kid and I found my first guitar in the loft when my parents moved house.

 

2.      What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim is to keep pushing myself as a musician, to see what I’m physically capable of making happen on a guitar and hopefully changing perceptions of what a guitar can be used for.

 

3.      How long have you been writing your own music?

I wrote my own music right from the start, I used to borrow my mums little stereo from the kitchen when she was out and use the cassette part to record chord patterns and improvisations. That makes it sound quite sophisticated but in reality it sounded like a fire in a pet shop.

 

4.      Who are your top three influences and why?

My top 3 influences… Well that probably changes on a regular basis depending on what I’m listening to. At the moment I’d probably say: Lenny Breau… not many people will have heard of him but he was an absolutely amazing guitarist and unfortunately died a tragic death in relative obscurity.

Tommy Emmanuel…  Not just for his amazing guitar playing but for his stunning showmanship. Such a great live act.

Jeff Buckley… Not for the guitar playing (which I actually do love as well!) but for the delivery, style, honesty and pure emotion. The prime example of fantastic musicianship being used to make you feel something.

 

5.      Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My upcoming release ‘Wintersong’ is out on 10th Feb to buy physical copies (which also include a DVD with lots of extras) and of course downloads will be available in all the regular places like iTunes too. If you can’t wait til then, I have a couple of singles I’ll be releasing in the run up to that: a cover of Beyonce’s ‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)’ with plenty of guitar bashing and twiddling, available to download on 16th Dec. and another single will be out on 20th Jan: one of my own songs called ‘Would’.

 

6.      Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live in West London but I tour all over the UK. My favourite venue on the circuit is the Stables in Milton Keynes, it’s just a lovely venue with brilliant staff and a terrific audience.

 

7.      Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

London and the south east has a great scene for acoustic music. You’ve got some Amazing heartfelt songwriters like Kal Lavelle (who incidentally does guest backing vocals on a song on my Album!) all the way through to blisteringly good gypsy jazz musicians like Sim Jones (Who I managed to get to play a bit of violin on my album. And I’m glad I did! 🙂

 

8.      Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can come and say hi to me at

www.facebook.com/darylkellie

See me playing things at

www.youtube.com/darylkellieofficial

and join my mailing list, receive free stuff and lots more at www.darylkellie.com

I also have a few snippets up for people to get a sneaky peek of the album at www.soundcloud.com/daryl-kellie

Leave a Reply

