Natasha Nicholls

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I do not like sounding like a cliche, but music has always been a passion of mine. I remember being 4 years old singing along to anything that was on the radio whether it was opera or country. I loved it all! I didn’t know any of the words, so I just made up my own instead! At the age of 7, my parents bought a little piano for me. I got really excited when I first saw it, but I did not know what to do with it because I had never played the piano before so I just played some keys until something half-decent came out of the piano. In my pre-teens I enjoyed writing poetry, but it wasn’t until the age of 13 when I finally decided to write some songs. This was also the time when I started to perform live with my original songs.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim would be to reach as many people as possible with my music. I have my own children’s foundation that raises money for handicapped children in Asia and Africa. Through my music I intend to help them financially. So the more people I can reach with my music, the more people I can help with my music.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing my own music for a couple of years now, since the age of 13 to be exact (like I said previously). Before writing my own songs, I wrote short stories and poetry. In order to remember my stories and poems, I used to sing them to myself. I guess this was my introduction to songwriting.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

This is hard to answer because I am influenced by hundreds of musicians from all music genres! If I had to choose three influences then they will have to be The Beatles, Bob Dylan and Amy Winehouse. The Beatles have written some of the best songs in musical history and their songs inspired me to write my own songs. Bob Dylan is a songwriting legend and I like the fact that his lyrics were so ahead of their time. Amy Winehouse dared to be different and her performances always captivated me.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current EP is simply called ‘EP’. It consists of songs that I wrote after waking up one night with melodies and lyrics in my head.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am from a tiny village in the Netherlands, just outside of Amsterdam. The music scene is great here because of its small size; everyone somehow seems to know each other. Being close to Amsterdam is great too because Amsterdam has so many great venues such as Heineken Music Hall and Melkweg.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There are a lot of great musicians in the Netherlands. The Dutch are particularly known for producing some great DJ’s such as Tiesto.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can listen to my music and also find the links to my social media on my official website: www.natashanichollsmusic.com

Thank you for interviewing me 🙂

One thought on “Natasha Nicholls

Leave a Reply

