Sose from ShoDem SMG

Samson 001 Low res

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My initial start in music came from my two older brothers. One who works in video animation and the other who is also an artist. Both had various skill basis that interested me, but I felt I always sat somewhere in the middle – management, publishing and artist development.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To really be able to have built a solid working foundation alongside a positive reputation, being able to sustain my business in the music industry with a couple of UK artists who I have been able to teach, develop and nurture into a successful artist and brand. 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I don’t write my own music as I am not a performing artist, however any artist I work with and eventually sign, I will break down their verses and build them back with them. The vision isn’t to conform to the status quo. 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Jay Z- His attitude toward the industry and his ability to develop himself from an artist to a brand to a business successfully. His ability to evolve and adapt yet still be recognisable is something I fully respect. 

Dizzee Rascal –  Starting as a UK urban artist and now established across the globe despite the typical controversies that  are associated with UK urban artists. He has transformed himself from a grime artist to a pop artist keeping his rapping ways but now touching mainstream markets and audiences. 

Young Money / Cash Money family – probably the most relatable to where I see ShoDem going, their business model and structure appeals. It’s not only a business it’s a family and the unity within the music industry whilst each artist remaining individual is strong and accepted. 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Cheque Me featuring Beluga Ice was really for me my first real project that I felt could go mainstream. It’s relatable and fun but does convey a real message that I’m sure many a person goes through. It was also Beluga Ice’s first independent video so all round it was a real learning curve.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in West London and I wouldn’t put a title on the scene. I’m open to all artists and genres and look forward to exploring the raw UK talent. I am currently working with a female singer/rapper who will potentially sign with ShoDem, but I am very open to working with artists who ShoDem can relate to – this is not a case of just working with any artist – they need to have that spark and raw intuition for the industry that fits the scope of ShoDem. 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

One artist who I respect fully is MSL – @infamousmsl. The drive and hunger he has is phenomenal and the passion is real. He is constantly working off of his own back and yet he remains one of the most humble individuals I know. He is definitely one to work – the work ethic is on point. 

Beluga Ice – @Iambeluga – Beluga was open to change and working with him on cheque me was a positive experience. Punchy catch lines and stripped back Beluga is nothing less than the truth, you need to listen to him carefully but his word play is excellent, everytime you listen to him theres a different angle. 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Sound Cloud – ShoDemSMG

Twitter: @ShoDemSMG

Facebook: ShoDemENT

Amazon: ShoDem ENT ft Beluga Ice Cheque Me 

Spinnup: ShoDemSMG

YouTube: ShoDem ENT ShoDem SMG

Leave a Reply

