Freddie Fiction

How did you get your initial start in music?
I formed a band with some school friends in 8th grade and started playing at school events and dances.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To write and record songs with great melodies and lyrics that can touch people on an emotional level or make people think about some of the serious issues in the world.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Since the age of 13. I got my first guitar at age 13. I couldn’t play a chord but I immediately took it to my bedroom and start strumming away and trying to write songs. After a couple of weeks I had taught myself a few chords and was away writing all sorts of songs. Not the greatest stuff because after all it was the pinning’s of a 13 year old. I like to think my skill as a songwriter has improved greatly since then…haha. I have composed 100’s of songs over the years.

Who are your top three influences and why?

I started listening to The Beatles at a young age and their music was infectious and instant. Queen are another one of my favorites’. I love Freddie Mercury’s strong performances and intricate harmonies. I also enjoyed Prince’s songs a lot. Apart from his monumental talent he had a mysterious androgynous persona that was quite intriguing.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I wrote I Don’t Dream in a 30 minute sitting one evening as I sat alone frustrated. I recorded it in my studio the next day. It is quite bare just acoustic guitar and vocals. After I mixed it I realized it was maybe too bare and needed strings. I brought in a live violin player a few days later and that added a lot to the song.

Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can like my facebook fan page at http://www.facebook.com/freddiefiction and interact with me directly there
The music video for I Don’t Dream can be found at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24yFHZcGfq4

You can download the song for free at http://taazi.com/freddiefiction

Or you can buy it from itunes at
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/i-dont-dream-single/id796507224

You can also write to me at Twitter. I am quite active on social media and usually respond on both twitter and FB
http://www.twitter.com/FreddieFiction

Leave a Reply

