Resonance

Resonance_Rooftop700With two singles in the offing and exciting penchant for switching genre depending on mood and taste, we HAD to chat to the mind behind Resonance – so we asked Radhika a few questions…know her better.

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Probably in the womb. My mother would sing devotional hymns day in day out while she was expecting. All that music just infused into me.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?
To play Wembley stadium, and to have an unforgettable time with our fans doing so.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?
Properly since 2009, after I quit my job in the City. I sort of used to play guitar while I was a lawyer, but that kind of environment wasn’t really conducive to being creative.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?
I’ve been listening to U2 since I was 7 years old. Everything I believe about singing on stage comes from watching their shows. And Bono basically taught me how to sing – when you listen to his voice on your headphones, with your eyes closed, you can just feel it. That feeling then came out of me as song.
I also love Hendrix. Again, someone who has soul. His guitar sounds like an animal when he plays.
Mark Knopfler. Because he gets that this ain’t no trumpet playin’ band.

Resonance 6005. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?
Mister Policeman – It’s a song about someone who’s not perfect, but he’s still trying very hard to do the right thing. I can relate to that!
Reverie – This song just makes people happy. And it instantly gets them moving. To watch the song have that effect while they’re listening to it – it’s an elevating feeling.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?
After spending half of my life in the UK, I’ve just moved to the San Francisco Bay Area. It’s only been a month, so I’m still discovering the local scene.
However, I’m in Austin right now for SXSW, and it’s an incredible place. Austinites are committed to their live music – seriously committed. But they do it with an amazingly grounded attitude, like ‘yeah, this is us’. My favourite venue so far is the Empire Garage – it looks like a former auto garage, and the vibe is electric. I saw Vintage Trouble there this week, and I want to play a gig there one day!

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?
 From back in London, I’d recommend Mitch Daniels. That guy’s got soul. I was fortunate enough for him to play a concert in my living room just before I left London. Beautiful. My friends are fans.
There’s a band in London with a very interesting name: Hats Off Gentlemen It’s Adequate. They are just amazing live. I love being at their gigs. Their singer, Malcolm, is also a sublime guitarist.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.
 We have a website with lots of stuff on it, and which was designed by a London illustrator called Kraggy: www.ResonanceMusicProject.com
 
We’re also on Facebook, where I post updates, photos and discoveries along the way. We have a great community there: www.facebook.com/ResonanceMusicProject
 
I’m also on Twitter: www.twitter.com/ResonanceGlobal
 
You can hear our new singles at: www.soundcloud.com/resonancemusicproject
 
We also just launched two new videos on our YouTube channel. There’s also a video shot in Miami:
Leave a Reply

