Skremz

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I started making music when i was in school. A teacher of mine saw i was a very angry kid and he decided to take me on and introduced me to musical activities. Recording a few bits here and there. When i got into college was when the real fun started because they had a fully equipped studio and it was amazing! It was like living in the north pole with santa clause. I could finally do the one thing that always kept me sane.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My Ultimate aim would be to Run the industry. In all aspects. Most people might view as arrogance, i view it as the ultimate motivation.  I want to be the best at everything musically that i do. I even want to be the best at other genres even though  i cannot sing.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Ive been writing music since about 11. At that age id already gone through some not so pleasant things. I couldn’t write raps at first, i just wrote stuff down that didn’t rhyme. When i got to about 14 things started to jell together and by 16 i was ready to tackily anyone and the world. I guess you could say I’ve always written my own stuff since i can remember. No one can display my feelings better than me.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Eminem is my first influence, this is because the way he wrote feelings down in songs and the style of music he made was unbelievable. No one could touch him. His rap skills was crazy and he is extremely versatile. Different subject matters as well as comedy. Thats unseen in Rap Music and even now its the same. Dr Dre hit the JACKPOT with that one. Next we have Jay Z. He has the swag and the story from not so pleasant past to fully fledged business married man. Other rappers just couldn’t match up to him in terms on being a man. The stuff he wrote about in his early albums were about the life he once lived and as he grew as a musician it became more about the life he was living. He is the ultimate man to me. Not just because of his music but because of the way he portrays himself. Finally Steve Jobs. Steve i wish i could have met. His background of adopted son to multibillionaire tech giant is inspiring. He always said; “Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish”. I hope to keep using that quote for the rest of my life.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Palm Trees is not your average Hip-Hop song. Especially with all the nonsense going around in hip hop right now. I want this song to open eyes and to bring people back to reality. Its not just twerking and bottle popping that matters. People should connect with Palm Trees and i hope the song can influence people in a positive way even tho the song is very cryptic.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Im a Londoner always and based in South London for now. I plan to relocate to a more fitting setting for my mind. There really isn’t a scene for what i do in London. Ive not come across others who can make my head turn with their music. Especially in Hip Hop.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

People should Listen to a great talent Monica Azull. Im sure she has a bright future.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Music Lovers can find me on twitter @Skremz and listen at www.soundcloud.com/skremzworld

Leave a Reply

