Cowboy Hat

DSC_43181.      How did you get your initial start in music?

I got a record deal when I was 19 with a company called Genetic Records, as a singer songwriter with people like Steve Strange on it but the company folded a few months afterwards and I got a job as tea boy in a recording studio in South East London run by a bunch of gangsters who ended up being prime suspects for a big gold bullion robbery at Heathrow airport. It was an interesting time including being paid from what seemed a rather large amount of cash in cellophane bags under the stairs. I then went on to work at Air Studios one of the worlds greatest studios and then on to Air Monserrat in The West Indies where at the age of 23 I had a serious car crash that left me unable to play for thirty years, Only recently after 14 years of a heavy clutch on a Harley Davidson motorcycle have I got enough movement back in my hand to play again. Three years ago I had one guitar. I now have 21 and a band and three albums worth of recorded material. In between times I switched over to the film industry, worked by way up through the ranks and made three movies as a writer director including The Refuge which I am very proud of. But it never quite replaced music in my life.

2.      What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim would be to have at least five well crafted albums in circulation and to play the Hammersmith Apollo where, while watching Roxy Music play all those years ago at the age of 22, I made a vow to myself that one day I would be on that stage with my own band. Can you make that happen? I’d also like to be touring substantial venues 7 months of the year and people to like what I do.

4.      How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve only been playing again for three years, since May 2011 and the last two years has seen me recording three albums worth of material. The first of which to be released is the History of the American West album, coming out on June 3. So including by output from 18 to 23 that’s 8 years of writing but this second period is by far the most exciting and prolific.

5.      Who are your top three influences and why?

My top three influences are Jack White, Jack White and Jack White. I don’t quite understand why… but everything he does with whoever he is collaborating with, is riveting. He is the Saviour of Rock as Esquire named him. I guess the others might be Ron Sexsmith for his songwriting and amazing voice and The Rival Sons for their immaculate borrowings from the best of Zeppelin and Bad Company.

5.      Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s an epic! Have pity on me!!  On average each song took about four days of lyric writing. Sometimes I’d only get one verse in a whole day. It’s partly because they are narrative stories and putting an historical events from the American West into rhyming couplets in ten verses or less is difficult. But I took no shortcuts. They rhyme, they tell the story and they have a twist in each one. I guess that comes from my experience as a screenwriter, a natural affinity for the English language which I guess I didn’t have when I was younger. It was an ambitious project and am pleased to say that I think I pulled it off. I don’t recall anything comparable by any other artist and the reviews have been great. See this collection of Reverbnation Crowd Reviews: Defiantly Unique, Lyrics are phenomenal, Timeless…cinematic, soulful authenticity…..lyrics breathtakingly inventive…

6.      Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are based in Chiswick, West London. I have a new band so we are looking to hit the Soho and Camden circuit soon. Favorite venues none.

7.      Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Again not aware of other bands in the area as we’re not out there yet.

9.      Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

We have a website www.cowboyhat.tv and there links below:

http://www.cowboyhat.tv

https://www.facebook.com/cowboyhatmusic

http://www.reverbnation.com/cowboyhatandthatfuzzboxvoodoo

https://www.youtube.com/CowboyHatMusic

https://soundcloud.com/cowboyhatmusic/sets/the-history-of-the-american-west

Leave a Reply

