Veronica Brown

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

When I was about 3 or 4 years of age, my older sister discovered that I could sing and I started singing lead in Church and with my family group. On weekends, my father the Pastor of our Church also sang as a member of a successful male gospel group and whenever they performed locally, I was the opening act. After a while it became difficult to toggle between my father’s and my own engagements, and it became more and more difficult for my parents to juggle their and my singing engagement at churches and other venues and then the record labels like Motown started coming but if it wasn’t singing Gospel my father was not having it.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I am taller now, the same complexion, the same love for singing, the same faith in the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, the same middle child of eight.

As a believer in Christ it is my destiny to assist others to know Christ through my music. I want to put a BIG Smile on God’s face.
We gain strength, courage and confidence by submitting to the will and gifts God gives me.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Once I turned an adult I auditioned for a three girl group in Detroit Michigan and after they we’re picked (me being one that was picked) by the know current CEO of Psalms Group Mr. Wendell Ralph discovered that we all had something in common all of our fathers we’re Ministers, so he decided to call us The Preachers Daughters. This story I believe “along with others” motivated the past movies (The Preacher Daughters and Preacher’s Daughter). This brings me to answering your question about writing my own music, because we did not sing Gospel music and sang popular hit songs under the group name Preachers Daughter’s brought hard times to all of us from struggles in the business, to Divorce to even death to one of the members of the group at 21 years old – Your answer: I’ve always been about a message and once I went solo I started writing songs but now my inspiration comes from the Bible the most powerful words ever written. So when time became hard and I’d lose my way I turned to my faith This is when I started writing my new album “Come Quickly” from where “I don’t wanna be a Sinner no more” came from “to help other void the penalty for sin”.

All we have to do is find our audience to share these gifts. Jesus said, “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

I am influenced by God’s word, by faith. What I have seen him do for me, and what He has done for other.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

We CAN change our lives through Christ. If you look and believe in Jesus, you willl be astonished how far HE can take you. You can trust HIM, draw closer to the Father,
put HIM first. Move your life to a higher level. The Lord will take you places you cannot even imagine. HE TRULY IS AMAZING.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live in Phoenix, Arizona. But my musical and family roots are back in Detroit, Michigan.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Recently I heard a local vocalist, Brigett Kern, I am sure there is more out here, I’m just not aware of them.

I also sing in a great choir with numerous talented vocalist.

Performing frequently in Arizona: The Clark Sisters, Fred Hammond, Rance Allen, ect.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

My new single “I Don’t Wanna Be A Sinner” can be heard here:
http://www.psalmsgroup.com
http://www.veronicabrown.org
http://www.reverbnation.com/veronicabrown100
http://www.soundcloud.com/vevebrown

Leave a Reply

