Velshur

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?
A gig in Canada was the first time performing publicly…. We were in the ski fields and the offer came up to do some songs. I played a ripping version of come together that felt so good with a little help from some friends. I got side tracked partying through America for a couple of months before stumbling into doing it as a career rather than a hobby. I saw Cold War Kids at Coachella just before I came back to Australia… The sun was setting in the middle of the desert.. They played a song called bulldozer and I was just like man I want that to be my life.

The thing that really started me doing it as a profession was walking into a hotel back in Australia asking for a cleaning job or something so I could make money and get back overseas, lying that I had experience, then being offered a job as a resident musician when they found out what I really did when we got talking. If it wasn’t for that, I think it would have taken longer for me to realise that’s where my energy should be focused and Velshur probably wouldn’t have done as many things as we have now.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Well my ultimate aim is to put on fucking incredible shows all around the world that make people feel really good, and keep creating and releasing music for as long as I feel inspired to.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since 15/16 years old I’ve been writing my own stuff… We had this one that our bassist in our old band had written, and we’d recorded it, I sang but we had no vocals in the chorus. I loved the song and had showed so many people, but eventually got fed up with explaining why we had no chorus vocals. It got to the point where I just tried the most simple thing I could that had the title of the song in it, “wo oah what’ll we do tonight.. wo oah there was a time” and we ended up with a finished version of there was a time, which will appear on the debut e.p. After that I was always coming up with ideas and little songs that I’d record onto a little Dictaphone I had… Eventually I set up the pro tools recording software and starting writing music for a full band in that.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Top 3 is a hard one. It’s always changing. At the moment it’s Sly and the Family Stone, Fitz and the Tantrums and Aerosmith… old school lo fi Aerosmith.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

That these songs have been brewing like a good stew for a while. They were mostly written when I was 18 so it’s feeling weird and exciting to finally release them out from my little nest after having them sit there for so long

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues

Based in Byron Bay, but move about like a gypsy. Favourite venues are all the ones we’ve played… The Beach Hotel and the Great Northern. The Black Keys and The White Stripes have played the northern, and the Beach Hotel has a great outdoorish stage near the beach under a huge fan that some pretty big acts and DJ’s have played on too. It’s busy in town during summer. We are privileged to have some of the biggest festivals in Australia there such as Splendour in The Grass, Bluesfest and Falls festival, so a lot of the bands playing there do side shows at our local venues. Favourite night out in Byron is a good boogie at The Northern to some new music… then whatever happens after happens. It’s a thriving hub of creative, artistic individuals. Everybody has an interesting story.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Toby’s band Tora are absolutely killing it. They’ve released so much music already. Potato Potato Jules’ drums for and they’re songs will make you feel total bliss. Prowler is Jules’ other band and they have the most badass face melting riffs you’ll hear today.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

On facebook at www.facebook.com/velshurband or at our website velshur.com. Most information will be up on facebook first, so that’s the best place to keep up with what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

