Plymouth Brethren

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My start in music was from a very early age. At 5 I had my first three-quarter size Spanish guitar and at 7 or 8 progressed to a Strat copy that I still write and perform with today. From there I was lighting up the “Folk Masses” at a Catholic school I went to and simply carried on playing as a hobby.

I’d never really acknowledged or explored my singer/song-writer abilities until I was nearing the end of my first degree in Philosophy. In the final leg of University I joined a band and caught the bug. It was at this time I decided my chosen career in the alcohol trade wasn’t for me and returned to University to study a second degree in audio engineering.

This was the impetus for the creation of Plymouth Brethren – a one man writing, performance and production machine.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To play a gig on the Moon! If not, Mars! I’ve always thought big and if total, worldwide domination isn’t on the To-Do list then I’m doing something wrong.

On the other hand this “thing” we do as artists is far bigger than any of us. Aims and ambitions are my way of organising activities on a day-to-day basis, making sure I’m in the right place at the right time, but we simply never know what is coming our way.

Philosophically, my aims in this industry are not so removed from anyone else’s in their own industry – be awesome at what I’m doing. If I have a day where I could be more awesome, then I’ll be more awesome tomorrow.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

12 years, 4 months and 17 days – as of 23rd May 2014.

The first “song” I wrote was a Valentines present for a crush I had when I was 16. It was whimsical and hardly trudged the depths of the human soul, but she liked it…can’t ask for more than that.

I got serious a good few years later.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

1. Incubus 2. Incubus 3. Incubus.

It’s fairly embarrassing how much of a Fan Boy I am of that band, but there is a song for every occasion and they have pulled me through each and every watershed moment of my life so far. The craftsmanship of their songs, their musicianship and performance ability make them (in my opinion) one of the most formidable rock/funk/cosmic/genre breaking bands of the last few decades.

If I was forced to choose other artists who influence me I’d look both backwards and forwards – there is so much new talent coming through and breaking the Atlantic barrier. Nestled in my record collection are the likes of Rod Stuart, Phil Collins, Slipknot, Protest the Hero, James Taylor, George Barnett, The Black Keys, Battle Tapes, Tiesto and Black Fras to name a few.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s the debut EP release so I’m looking to gain as much traction as possible and see what the reaction is. The whole ethos behind Plymouth Brethren is that the music is genre breaking and not conservative, in contrast to what the name might suggest.

I’ll always default to “balls-in-you-face-intensity” but whether that is in rock, EDM, pop, funk or ballads remains to be seen.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m currently based in Worcestershire, in a little town called Bewdley. We lay claim to devastating floods, a 19th Century Prime Minister (Stanley Baldwin) and the mighty Becky Hill off of The Voice.

The scene is great up here. There’s always something happening either here or in our neighboring communities. Kidderminster boasts a Town Hall with a decent capacity and pedigree to boot. Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Status Quo and The Rolling Stones have all destroyed the boards in Kidderminster and it seems that bigger acts are coming back to our little area.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Vault of Eagles – they’re an awesome grunge sound. Power, energy and superb live!

Our World Below, Weak 13, Under the Fridge.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

HQ is www.plymouthbrethrenband.com, all of the music, media and merch is available from the official website, but you can also find us at the following links:

Soundcloud: soundcloud.com/plymouthbrethrenband

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Plymouthbrethrenband

Twitter: www.twitter.com/PBrethrenBand

ReverbNation: www.reverbnation.com/plymouthbrethren

Leave a Reply

