The Company

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Well music has always been a huge part of me from a very tender age. I’m sure you’ve probably heard it over and over again but the truth is that I started from the church, in the choir to be more precise. Music to me was a universal language and race or gender didn’t matter, it was for any and everyone to enjoy as it had an effect on the soul… to me it was beautiful. I was always looking for people or that person who shared a similar interest and passion for the craft so as to develop myself and luckily enough at that time I found the G.A.N.G. Through various performances within our home city at that time which so happened to be Hull City, we were spotted by the BBC Humberside. It was at that point I started getting the bigger picture, as I could picture myself doing this for life. Luckily enough, the music started generating the required interest hence, we started gigging, interviews from local radio stations, magazines, opened up for famous names like Florence and the Machines, N dubz, Jagged edge to mention but a few. We were also fortunate to have performed in the Hull freedom festivals, Beverley festivals but the highlight was definitely the Leeds and Reading festivals where we performed on the BBC introducing stage. Good old memories!

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Our ultimate aim in the industry would be to create a new and fresh sound of music that can stand the test of time… we call them making classics. Its hard work and dedication but we believe nothing is impossible when you love what you do. We hope to create music that will inspire and appeal to both the old and young, you know music that has that universal appeal (world music). I think very few artist aim for this and very few have done this but hopefully we shall be including in the few.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing my own music since the age of 13, that is as far back as I can remember. It’s funny  now looking back I so dread the lyrics. Old mates still remind me like I’m meant to be like wow! That was awesome. Whenever they get all hyped I often reply … stop it! Funny… good old days.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

It’s a hard one but my top 3 would be R.kelly, Michael Jackson and Yanni. There are indeed so many more as I can go on and on but these 3 share something similar that I do admire. They seem lost in the music, it is beautiful to behold as they have diverse interpretations. They don’t get stuck doing the same things musically but they often try to push the envelope and the music feels like it was meant to be that way or like they literarily pulled it from a source. Music is indeed a science.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I would love people to know that we are ‘THE COMPANY’ and that we just want to give people an option, something different and unique…. a new sound of music that we call ‘the new soul’ or ‘neo-soul’ which is a blend of classical, rnb, jazz, soul and rock influences. The current release is Love To Hate which was released under Licata Records which an independent Record label. The song was inspired by the musical genius Marvin Gaye…Legend. It is a chilled out tune you might want to listen to in a dinner function or at home or simple get together with friends. It is borne out of real life experiences that you and I have probably gone through at some stage in life. We tried to paint the picture in the simplest form as we possible without saying too much and yet clinging to the very emotion behind the song. The song is currently on sound cloud. … you can check it out!

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

At the moment, The Company is based in London. It is a new company as we are looking forward to greater things. In order words we are eager to see what the future holds because we have so much more to give. At the moment an interesting venue we would love to perform would be the Jazz Cafe in Camden.

Leave a Reply

