Gravity Rain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

As far as I remember I picked up a guitar at the age of 12 or 13. Around the same age I started to play in a band in which I sang, played guitar and composed. I never took any guitar lessons, what I can’t say about vocals which I started to learn from an academic vocal coach at the age of 18.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Justice. I’m serious. There is too much overrated and underrated music these days. The well-fulfilled promotion, not a good music, became the yardstick of fame. When I achieve sufficient success I will do my best to balance things up from my point of view.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since the time I began playing guitar – so, for 16 years I’ve been writing my own material. There is yearly stuff that no one will ever hear. Some of it is rearranged and used in Gravity Rain’s repertoire.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

In Flames, Manowar and Devin Townsend.

I really like the harmonies and the melodies in old In Flames. I also enjoy the most of ethnic music in general, especially Scandinavian. Together with deep lyrics of Anders Friden old In Flames influence me hitherto, and you can hear it.

Manowar is the band I grew up listening to, and I can’t deny it left a huge imprint on my musical formation. It also helped me to overcome various difficulties when I was a teenager.

Devin Townsend is an example of a true musician for me. He doesn’t care about the trends, he is very productive and talented. He possesses this aura of a “home rock star” that really has its own magic and makes his material sound even more unique. When I was listening to his old stuff I was infected by this “meditative metal” concept that I now try to apply to my music. I respect him a lot.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

The general concept of “The Shining Silence” EP is that you can find something beautiful or even hope in very small things that you often can’t notice. The small tree on the rock on the cover of the EP represents these tiny things. I tried to achieve as much quality, energy and feeling as possible on this record, though I couldn’t implement 100% of the concept that I see in my head. So, expect to hear it on the debut album which will come out this autumn.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Gravity Rain is based in Samara city, Russia. It’s the city with a population of over 1 million people, but the music scene here is rather hard. I mean, the musicians are good, some are even brilliant but there’s no need for good metal music here and there are no decent venues to play. Sad but true. So, Gravity Rain is more Europe and US oriented project.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

“Dawn Protection” is an epic\progressive\instrumental\metal project that will very soon reveal itself to the world. I am familiar with this one already because the guitarist of Gravity Rain is the leader of Dawn Protection. I strongly recommend it to you, this music is truly unique.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

http://gravityrain.bandcamp.com – is the most appropriate source at the moment, and also the Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/gravityrain. The official website is currently under construction but it will be finished soon – www.gravityrain.com. There is also a SoundCloud page – https://soundcloud.com/gravity_rain

And https://vk.com/gravityrain – is the Russian social media source to enjoy our stuff and to support us.

Leave a Reply

