The Four Fours

Image6

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Prior to my time in You Slut I answered an ad to play bass for a fairly successful local act. I had wanted to be in a band forever. It was a baptism of fire. We had some amazing times, but they could be a horrendous lot to be around. We’d rehearse day in day out, way more than necessary, but it forced me to focus on my playing and singing. The guitarist, who was my arch nemesis, taught me one of the greatest lessons I have ever learned. He taught me how to actually learn. To concentrate hard in rehearsals so that when it came to gigs it was automatic and it could be about party time! We toured relentlessly. I drove a van everywhere. I had no money. I lived the bohemian lifestyle also know as living in poverty. It toughened me up. It also fuelled my desire for creative input. I had no say in that band, but I wanted to badly and I knew that this repressed creative backlog would find an outlet eventually. It was inevitable. Then BOOM! The Four Fours.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To take our enthusiasm and passion for what we’re doing and share it with as many people who want to hear it as possible. We want to share the party. We want to make an amazing career out of music and we want a rich and interesting legacy of great music to leave behind of course, but we also want to make sure we damn well enjoy the ride while we’re here.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

When I was six we moved house and it came with a piano. My Grandpa, who was a chorister and an organist, gave me lessons. Playing other people’s stuff was ok, but I soon got bored and would spend my time composing melodies and songs. So pretty much all my life.

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

My Mum – she’s awesome, popular, beautiful, charming, and intelligent. She shines a light on everyone she meets. Who wouldn’t want to be like that? Also she gets bonus points for bringing me up.

Freddie Mercury – his voice is the best voice in rock ever and he is the greatest performer of all time. So charasmatic. If I had even a grain of any of that I’d be a happy man.

Dave Grohl – when we’ve come to an impass as a band, all inspiration has deserted us and there is no clear way forward we sit back, relax, take a deep breath and ask ourselves “what would Dave do?”.

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s a double A-side!! So there are two tracks, not one!

Count To Ten is about failing to take action even though you know you should. Messing With History is about confusing fantasy with reality.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’ll always have a soft spot for the smelly Victoria Inn in Derby. Then I’d say the Rescue Rooms in Nottingham because it’s big enough to feel significant to play in, but not so big that you lose the intimacy. It’s also very clean, the food is nice and people actually go there.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Haiku Salut are a brilliant. They take you on a magical musical journey. One minute it’s like a Hans Zimmer score, the next you are in a cafe in 1930’s Paris. They also have a great dog called Pi.

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Our website is www.thefourfours.com. We update it regularly and our Twitter account @thefourfours is a hive of daily activity. We are also on Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/thefourfours, and have just started to use Facebook: www.facebook.com/thefourfours. You can also find our completely bananas homemade video for Count To Ten on YouTube: http://youtu.be/EmlbdfezEs4.

2 thoughts on “The Four Fours

  1. Hi KMB! Thanks for supporting our single out on the 14th July. You’ve been brill. Really enjoyed the interview. Give us a shout if you’d like us to contribute further in any way. We’re always plotting and planning. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

