Suburban Myth

myth flyer 2 jpeg

Derek Daisy…

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My dad was a drummer, so when I was 9 he taught me how to play a few basic beats. The cool thing about it was that I picked it up fast, and I loved doing it.. I joined the school band and had a great time.

When I was 13, my dad had The Goo Goo Dolls’ “Dizzy up the girl” album on tape in his car. At the time it was just noise, but “Slide” came on and the “oh May, put your arms around me” line came on and it just hit me. It made me feel something… So I started writing “poems”. Sometimes writing my words to the melody of Goo songs. My dad eventually gave me his acoustic guitar. From there I started writing songs with two chords and I just couldn’t put it down.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To write something that changes people’s lives. I want to make a full living at it… Tour, write songs for special projects and bands, meet people from all over the world… Just making music and doing it full time!

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing my own songs since I was 14. Early on they were pretty terrible. Everything was a perfect rhyme, and my voice was in between high and low due to puberty… And I wanted to sing like John Rzeznik of the Goos… And it just sucked. My first good song came out of me when I was 15. I won a talent show at my school with it. When I played some acoustic gigs, a lot of kids from school would come and watch and request that song. So that gave me momentum.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Goo Goo Dolls- they were the first band to make me want to write a song. At 13 we are trying to find ourselves in the world, and their albums just spoke to me and gave me something to work towards.

Switchfoot- there was a 4 year gap where the ggd’s didn’t have a new album, and switchfoot just got big with a single “Meant to live” I was 17 and for the time, their music was a nice change, that made me think outside the box in terms of guitar and songwriting.

Shinedown – during the songwriting process over the last 4 years for suburban myth, the way I wrote songs with Phil changed drastically. One day he sent me some lyrics to a song, and I told him I had been listening to Shinedown a lot lately.. So I tried to write music in the style of Shinedown (a bit harder than the goo goo dolls or Switchfoot mind you. After I finished the demo and sent it over, he was like “YESS!!! This is what we’re looking for!!”

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

We’ve been working on it off and on over the last year or so. While we tackle a lot of the political things that are happening in our world, we also managed to get some songs in for the girls.. Some pop rock songs… Our first single is the title track of the album called “Welcome (If Only)” which dives a little bit into the story of Alice in Wonderland. The single will be out on iTunes and other digital sites July 28th, and our full album with 15 songs will be out August 11th!

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are as a band currently residing in Charleston, SC. There are a lot of bands where we are, but not a ton of original ones… My favorite venue we’ve played so far was called the windjammer. A lot of big bands come through and play there. It’s big, cool lights, and the crowd is awesome.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

They aren’t from our ocal scene, but we played a show when they toured into town and they were really awesome. They’re called “Anyone’s Guess”. They are a great group, and we are hoping to play another show with them in the near future.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can find us on suburbanmythmusic.com, reverbnation.com/suburbanmyth and Facebook.com/suburbanmythmusic.

We always update when we got new things to show!

 

Nick Lomma…

1.   How did you get your initial start in music?

Just like most little kids do, assembling a drum set out of pots and pans. Growing up, listening to music all the time, playing music all the time. It’s something that’s always been a part of who I am. I think most artists are simply happiest when they’re creating something. I’ve been in bands most of my life. I took a few years off and really didn’t play with any bands and I realized I had to change that quick.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

It would be great to do this full time, to tour, see the world, make new fans, record more great songs. The most rewarding thing is hearing a group of people sing a song you wrote and hearing from them that your song means something to them or got them through a hard time.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

14 years

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Metallica taught me how to play guitar. Sevendust taught me melody and groove. Right now I’m channeling Shinedown despite being a relatively new fan of theirs. Having heard them on the radio for many years, I’m now delving into their albums and their success as a band. In my mind, I’d like to see Suburban Myth write songs the way they do. Not necessarily to sound like them, but reach a broad audience the way they do. People of all ages love Shinedown for their great songwriting and their passion.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I’m excited about this new album, consider it a first in a series of great albums we’ll record.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Charleston, SC. Our local scene is a little…different, haha. We’re a tourist town, so we mostly have beach bands and cover bands in town… We’ve had some great bands from here or settle here like Jump Little Children and Darius Rucker (Hootie and the Blowfish) of course. But you know the Bible verse, “No prophet is welcome in his hometown”. I lived in Charlotte during high school and there was a great metal scene with lots of cool venues. I always enjoyed Tremont Music Hall and Amos’ Southend. Sevendust used to play House of Blues Orlando like every New Year’s Eve which was a blast. I’m originally from central Florida so I’d always be in town for that show with Florida pals.

Here in town we’ve got the Music Farm, Tin Roof, Pour House, The Dive, Windjammer and some other cool places. We’ve been saturating our own market, I think we’re ready to tour the southeast US and the UK.

Honestly, Charleston is most famous for its “Piccolo Spoleto” festival, which features opera, dance, theater and classical music. I love classical and jazz music as well, so we’ve got some real culture too!

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I fully recommend Versus Angels (www.reverbnation.com/versusangels). They’re one of my favorite bands and I can see them rising to the top.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Single:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=js8dM20NvpQ

New Single:

https://soundcloud.com/suburbanmythmusic/welcome-if-only

www.facebook.com/SuburbanMythMusic

www.reverbnation.com/suburbanmyth

www.suburbanmythmusic.com

Leave a Reply

