Interview with Lodsb

Here is our 5 minute interview when we caught up with Lodsb, a German electronica artist with a classical background, fusing these together for an innovative sound.

384809_325902147441613_295237669_n

‘Usedom’ – https://soundcloud.com/retortpromo/usedom

1.      How did you get your initial start in music?

I grew up at my grandparents and they listened to a lot of blues & new orleans jazz; so when I was around 9 and said I’d like to get something like a “keyboard” they got me a guitar instead and put me into classes 😛

I hated that; but playing felt nice. and then there was this youth of playing guitar at some classic gigs and doing the hippie-thing with my friends in the park.
my family consists mostly of artists, so that kind of coined me to see such objects  as tools to realise own ideas.

Eventually I had enough pocket money to get something more interesting; a sampler and two turntables for some beat juggling with which I was playing along
with a friend who did some reaktor patches… we then had a setup consisting of mostly old-school gear (AMIGA as fx box, some hardware synths). At the same
time i did a lot of nerding with computers, so seeing them as just another tool to support creativity wasnt much of a stretch. that’s when I realized for myself that
creating music electronically is viable and valid. now, I am the worst guitar player 🙂

2.      What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

well… i guess as everyone who doesn’t want/see a life living off music: to have the work somehow acknowledged by a group of people or/and to inspire puzzle them. to be in a discourse with other artists.

3.      How long have you been writing your own music?

15 years.

4.      Who are your top three influences and why?

That changes constantly with the focus of every project that I am currently doing.

5.      Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Munich, Germany.,it’s basically a dead end for any underground scene 😉
seriously, Munich has no real culture of “edgy” underground music, there are hardly any gigs that one would classify as experimental. In the circle of music related friends, we just do parties at home and noodle around.

I think that’s also symptomatic for why I am liking the retort guys and like to release it there. Munich is nice if you are into indie *, classical music or house , though.

 6.     Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Except from some sporadic releases of single songs on some compilations on laridae.at or irrational music, I work mostly on albums which so far
have all been released (mille plateaux & retort & self). I know there is this duality creating momentum and quality: releasing often and releasing something that simply needed more time to get finished – I am usually working on something that is part of the latter. so no real buzz of soundcloud tracks etc.
I do have a shitload of unreleased/unfinished/live tracks but I saw putting them on the net mostly as spamming my own profile, maybe that’s something for another
alias… in time.

Leave a Reply

