Jessie Lowes

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Jess: I started singing in my School choir called ‘Sister Act’ and got my first role in my middle school production of The Sound Of Music where I played The Mother Abyss. It was amazing as I got a standing ovation and I was only very young. I think I was about 12. I then started going to The Ashington Operatic Society and got to sing solos at concerts moving on to play my first leading role as Laurie in our production of
Oklahoma.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Jess: I would love to get signed and to do an international tour with Label backing. I would also love to perform on one of the BBC Sessions as I think that would be great exposure and to get airplay all over the world.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Jess: I started writing lyrics when I was 12 and then went on to write my own music from there. I have always been writing music for as long as I can remember from when I got my first keyboard when I was 5, but more seriously when I was 12.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Melissa Ethridge, KD Lang and Tina Turner. I love all of these artists. I love Tina’s Strength in vocal and life in general, Melissa’s style and sound and KD’s attitude being a fellow Buddhist I watched a few of her interviews and she is an inspiration. . I love all of their sound and the fact that they are all very different.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Jess: My current release ‘ Stars’ is a very personal and meaningful song as it is for my mum who I sadly lost to cancer back in 2008. She was my rock and after losing her it almost killed me! Stars encapsulates my feelings surrounding her death and has helped me out of a really dark time in my life. I wanted to write a song that could have meaning to others and I hope that people love the song as much as I do.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in a little mining village just north of Newcaste Upon Tyne called Ashington. Locally at the moment there is not much of a scene, but Bubbles is a great bar to play featuring some great talent and more newcastle way The Lord Clyde and The Three Tuns are also great bars to play. Unfortunately one of my favorite venues recently closed called The Central Club. It was where I played my very first live gig and I am sad to see it go.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Jess: Yeah there’s some great talent 🙂 I would recommend a band called Metal Moth, Sobi Thurairatnam, Jason Carr and my former metal band Cult Of Whores And Dogs and two very good friends of mine Jacky Taylor from The Clandestined and Martin Walkyier from Skyclad

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

http://www.jessielowes.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessie-Lowes/166706493351429

Leave a Reply

