Cody Pennington

  • 027

    1. How did you get your initial start in music?

    Initially, I taught myself to play drums in middle school. When I made it to high school, I accidentally signed up for a choir class. (They tricked me by calling it “Intro to Vocal Music”!) I ended up REALLY enjoying singing and began to teach myself to play the guitar. After a year or so, I began to combine the two. I started singing and playing, and everyone started listening. It felt right. So, I began writing songs. It started to propel me into the musician I am today. It’s been a VERY long road to now, but it’s been a great one.

    1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

    My ultimate aim is to support myself and my future family with music alone. I don’t need fame or fortune, but I would really enjoy to have music as my career.

    1. How long have you been writing your own music?

    Nearly 8 years now.

    1. Who are your top three influences and why?

    I don’t have very many music influences. I’d say that John Mayer has the biggest influence on me, at least when it come to guitar style. I listened to him a lot when I was first starting to play music, so I think his style rubbed off on me a bit. I think my song “I’m Afraid” really pays homage to him.

    Mumford and Sons and The Lumineers would probably be close seconds, and a bit of influences on my sound. Being from Nashville, TN, I love the Southern sound. I love bad grammar in lyrics. I love just letting the music say what it needs to say.

    I wouldn’t call him an influence, but Gavin DeGraw would have to be the musician I would model my career after. He isn’t the most famous musician in the world, but he pays his bills with his music and consistently has great crowds. And that’s all I want.

    1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

    My current release, “To Be Me”, is really a message of individuality. Don’t be afraid to be you. And at the same time, I’m trying to show the world who “I” am. I put so many personal emotions into this EP that it basically turned out to be a first-person perspective into my life.

    1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

    I’m based in Suffolk and play quite a bit around Bury St. Edmunds and surrounding areas. My favorite venues in Bury St. Edmunds would have to be The Apex, Theatre Royal, and The Hunter Club.

    1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

    DEFINITELY give a listen to Sleeve of Hearts. They’re an incredible rock back. I’d say that Nik Lowe is worth giving a listen to if you like acoustic-based artist slightly similar to myself. And if you’re a fan of Alternative Rock, Cathedrals and Cars are a good fit.

    1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

    My website, Facebook or Soundcloud would be best.

    www.codypennington.com

    www.facebook.com/codypenningtonmusic

    www.soundcloud.com/codypennington

    Leave a Reply

    