Shane Thomas

SHANE THOMAS01

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I got my initial break, when I visited the famous Yehudi Menuhin Music School.
The headmaster said he had never met a child composer like me before and then
he went on ITN news to talk about my talent, which led to my Dad getting lots of
calls from radio and T.V shows.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim in the music industry is to become the first child to have successful
singles/albums, as a composer. A lot of people don’t think it’s possible in 2014, but
I don’t pay any attention to that.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been composing music from the age of seven and I started composing instinctively,
three weeks after my piano was delivered.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

My top three influences are:

Chopin, because of the way he uses the full scale of the piano in his pieces and also his
diversity is impressive.

Franz Listz, because I love his romantic pieces and he was so technically amazing, that people
were given smelling salts when they attented his Concerts, just in case they fainted!

I also like a pop Artist called Synchro. He produces minimalist music, with subtle variations
of a single theme and I sometimes apply this concept to my music, when composing pieces
that are suitable for film/TV.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release is called Mrs Matisse, who was the wife of Henri Matisse, the well known
painter.

I saw the painting and the colours translated into music that I could hear playing in my head.
i sat at a piano and out came Mrs Matisse. Then I discovered that Debussy had composed a
piece of music about the very same painting. I had no idea, it was just a coincidence.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in Woking, Surrey. My favourite venues in the area, are the H’G. Wells Events Centre
and G Live. I played a solo Concert at the H.G. Wells, (where Paul Weller sometimes performs).
I haven’t played G Live, but I’m working on that one!!

7. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

The best place to find me on line is to go to my website. www.shanethomas.co.uk

One thought on “Shane Thomas

Leave a Reply

