Adam Protz

IMG_0409

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

The very first musical note I would have played would have been on the ocarina at school! I grew up playing classical instruments, but I remember I really started taking music seriously when I started listening to rock music as a teenager. I’d say that explains why I love writing music for classical instruments like the piano, but with pop influences and the added edge of electronics.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I used to just want to be a film composer, but I then realised I also want to just release music and tour it also! Some composers who do similar stuff to me are actively doing all three of those things – if I could achieve that, I’d be a very happy bunny!

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I was fifteen.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Nils Frahm also writes piano based music, but it goes a lot deeper than that. He completely changed the way I see recording – he uses analog and tape machines and gets such a rich, warm sound. I wouldn’t know about this stuff if it wasn’t for him.
Ludovico Einaudi, purely because he was the first artist I was aware of who was writing solo piano music with classical and pop influences. I probably wouldn’t be doing this if it wasn’t for him.
I strongly believe that people are influenced on a conscious and subconcious level by virtually everything they encounter in life – that probably won’t do for a third answer, so let’s just say Fleetwood Mac as they’re my favourite band currently! You can watch a cover of one of their songs I did on my Youtube channel.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Not too much to be honest – I’m all for different people listening and forming their own interpretations, I really love that. Maybe just to listen out for a brief journey from a dark place to a place of great positivity.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I live just outside London in St Albans. The local scene is mainly based in the many pubs, not always so great for me as I don’t really write ‘pub music’! But it’s only a short trip in to London so it’s not such a problem.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I would definitely recommend you Google Sam Kelly and Rae Kelly (no relation!).

8. Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Yes sure. I’d say the most happening places for me are my website – http://www.adamprotz.com – where you can listen to and download lovely things. My Facebook page gets updated all the time – http://www.facebook.com/adamprotzmusic Also there’s some great music videos and live videos on my Youtube channel – http://www.youtube.com/adamprotz
Would love to chat to you all on Twitter also! I’m @AdmProtz

Leave a Reply

