Carl Finlay

image

 

 

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Music is very important in Ireland, i think most kids have the basic grasp of a musical instrument at an early age even if its just the tin-whistle or whatever. I had a teacher in primary school who used to drill traditional Irish music into us. He was an accordion player and he used to play it all day in class. He’d be there teaching us maths while squeezing out ‘The Lilting Fisherman’ on his accordion. So i guess music’s always seemed to be something intrinsic, vital and natural in daily life to me.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I’d like to have my music in as many houses between Huddersfield and Honaloulou.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I got my first guitar as a Christmas present when i was twelve years of age, and after i had learnt three basic chords i wrote my first song, and I’ve been writing ever since.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

1.Bob Dylan is probably my biggest influence, id consider myself a massive fan to the point of being somewhat of a trainspotter.  Most of all i love his voice, lots of people say he can’t sing, but to me when Bob is on form he is one of the best singers of all time. His vocal phrasing, timing and the subtle nuances and inflections in his delivery can turn his songs inside out and bring his words to life. I think Dylan more than anybody thought me that communication is paramount when performing a song.

2.Reggae music in general is another of my big influences. I love all styles of Jamaican music from ska to dancehall and i think that it’s permeated into my own music.

3.Although i don’t listen to too much Oasis these days, i have to give credit where credit is due. If it wasn’t for Oasis I may not have decided to pick up a guitar and start writing songs. I was about 11 or 12 when i heard Definitely Maybe, and i think my balls dropped the moment i heard the opening bars of ‘Rock and Roll Star’. Id love to go for a pint with Noel, he seems sound.

    5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I’d like them to know that my debut single ‘So Hard To Be Happy” will be available for download on all the major online places on the 1st of December and will be followed by a full album in the new year!

     6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

Im currently based in the back-arse of nowhere, so the music-scene consists of myself and a few crows squawking in my garden. In terms of venues i need to travel to Guildford, Brighton or London which are all relatively close.

    7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Id recommend two of my friends from back home in Ireland. The first is a lad called Conor Deasy who goes by the name of Biggles Flies Again, he is a great songwriter who i admire greatly, not least for his fluffy beard. The other is Cian Finn who is an exceptionally talented singer with great emotional depth, he has an album coming soon and he is without doubt heading for a bright future.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

carlfinlay.com

https://www.facebook.com/carlfinlaymusic

https://twitter.com/CarlFinlayMusic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCMH2E4x8kY

Leave a Reply

