Chris D’Lima

portfolio1

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

Music and performing has been in my family for at least 3 generations. Like many other musicians, I started by performing at family occasions since the age of about 3. The first time I picked up a guitar was when I was about 13 after falling in love with the latest Red Hot chill Peppers album and begging my Dad to buy me one. I joined a band with a couple of friends and the rest is history!

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To achieve a long and successful career in music. Success, of course, is measured differently by different people, and sometimes my idea of success changes. But if I’m being honest with myself, my ultimate aim is to be commercially successful and spend many years recording and performing music at a high level.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Ever since I got my first guitar I have been writing my own music. Of course the songs I wrote back then were bloody awful, but I think I’ve made some improvement! Before that, I did write short pieces for the cello which I also play.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Red Hot Chili Peppers – They were the reason I wanted to play guitar.

Steven Wilson – A guy who is pretty much unknown to everyone in mainstream music, but he is one of the most talented musicians I’ve ever known of. I’d love one day to work with him.

Pop music – I always try and stay on top of what is popular in the mainstream. Not all of it is great, but there is a gap there I’m trying to exploit. A bridge between pop and a more progressive style of rock/funk.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It’s my debut and it’s great! Think solid riffs, catchy melodies and magical harmonies. It was produced by my friends Resonant music and I played all of the instruments except for the drums, which were done by my long term drummer with whom I’ve been playing since we were 13.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in North London, and as I’m sure people are aware, the london music scene is bursting with amazing musicians! So much so, it’s hard to make a name for yourself nowadays. I’ve played most of the venues in camden and Shoreditch and there are a few great ones there. But I’d have to say, some of my favourite performances have come at Islington O2 and Clapham grand. They’re such great venues, it’s hard to ignore them!

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Honestly, there’s too many to pick out just a couple. But I’d better give a shout out to Resonant Music, who produced my track (and live round the corner). They’re releasing an EP soon and its sure to be good!

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I have just launched my new website www.chrisdlima.co.uk

To be the most up to date, you can get me on twitter @chris_dlima and Facebook. www.facebook.com/chrisdlimamusic

You can also check out some of my cover songs on youtube at https://www.youtube.com/chrisdlima

And Instagram chris_dlima

Leave a Reply

