Big Lenny B

1470324_239451152890713_330922733_n-2

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I always loved music, then at secondary school, some friends of  mine needed a bass player, so I said yes. I went out and bought a 3/4 size Satellite Bass and learned to play U2’s Rattle and Hum album on one string, that was good enough to get in and I went from there.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I love writing, that’s my first love, so for me it is enough when someone comes up to me and says that track is amazing, it made me cry etc etc….its the best compliment.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

There or there about 20 years…ahem maybe more.

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

Roger Waters, his writing, his bass work, his emotion are amazing, he is the biggest influence on what I do. Bill Wyman kinda showed me the way, all about timing and just keeping the groove then I discovered Leland Sklar, he’ll probably hate me for saying this so I’ll be sure to show him, but I saw him playing on Phil Collins video and suddenly realised how it was much cooler to be a Bass player, his emotive playing, his look, his stage presence everything….I saw him and was like “I want to be him!”

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?  

The single ‘In a Minute’ is the first official single taken from my forthcoming album ‘…& Friends’. This is my first as a solo act. It has been a cool ride, as I have had a chance to work with some other musicians that I have known for years and have never had a chance to play with. Its also been a great recording experience, Martin is a great producer and we have a special something while working together.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I am based in Kent. The local scene for acoustic/jazz is very hot right now and the open mic scene is quite big as well. However, for bands the scene is terrible, a lot of the venues have closed down, so the ones left are normally being run by promoters who pack 8 bands a night in, so bands are playing like a 15 minute set for no money. Original acts are currently getting a hard time of it.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Oh there are loads, probably a good way to introduce a couple would be to check out the album. I have got Cat Kubillus on ‘Hear Me’ she is one to look out for, she is hoping to release at the end of 2015, so thats one to watch. I have Andee Price duetting with me on “Impossible”, she goes out as ‘Scarlett Rae & The Cherry Reds she is a great Bass player too, I was so excited when she agreed to duet with me. But my most exciting moment, was when Tony Bunn (not actually related, but now act as such) allowed me to cover “Got Me a Black Woman”, which was taken from his album “Small World”. We operate it different worlds, he comes from the USA and has something I could never have as a musician so I was and am still very honoured that he offered it up.

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

The best place to get me is on Facebook or Twitter, it is me on there, so come say hi and I’ll keep you up to date with everything “Lenny”. I am also easily found on YouTube, Bandcamp, Dropmusic, Soundcloud, iTunes etc etc. @biglennyb

Facebook.com/biglennyb

 

Leave a Reply

