ShadowIcon

Capture

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I always liked listening to music. My 8-year older brother with whom I have shared the room when we were kids introduced me to heavy metal. Since I “had” to listen to what my big brother was listening to I literally grew up with heavy metal music and have listened to it for as long as I can remember. Instead of listening to children stories and lullabies, I went to bed each day listening to Metallica, Slayer, Motley Crue, Iron Maiden, etc. Being an important part of my life it was only logical to start learning an instrument. I have started learning the piano at age 9 and have then switched to guitar when I was 15. Looking back I think that was a great combination. I still program initial orchestrations when I write music.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

The thing I strive for in the music industry is to be able to get to the point where ShadowIcon’s music would gain worldwide recognition. I realize that this particular sub-genre of heavy metal is very specific and therefore is a small, niche, market. But still my wish is to spread our music around the globe. And for me the greatest reward would be to be part of the inspirational wave for the future generation of musicians.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I learned at least approximately how to play the piano. I started playing piano when I was 9 years old and have then switched to learning the guitar when I was 15. When I had the basic knowledge of the scales, chord progressions and other parts of the music theory covered I started to play my own start. I have always liked improvisation which helped as well. But what really gave me a kick in song writing was the moment when I have heard my band playing the song I have written for the first time.

4.Who are your top three influences and why?

That would be the two subgenres of heavy metal music; namely New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) and Power Metal. The third is classical music. And I have to highlight one additional influence that also plays a very important role for me: Hollywood film and Hollywood trailer music.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

We have – of course – put a lot of effort in this EP and are very proud of the result. The reason that we made an EP (instead of a full length CD) is that we have really wanted to bring the songs to another level. At the same time we wanted to bring in some guests that would participate in this project, which they did. The two things that I think are a big leap forward (comparing with the first CD) are orchestrations and the production itself.

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are based in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia. Since Slovenia is a rather small country with less than 2 million people you can imagine that the local scene is obviously small as well. But there’s a certain appeal in playing these local small(er) clubs where you get the chance to chat with the audience afterwards and grab a beer with a music enthusiast who finds our music inspiring. And it’s stuff like that that I think has a special charm.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There are a lot of great local bands with some very talented musicians. And though the list would be way too long if I would list all (or most) of them, I would maybe highlight Divine Illusion (progressive metal) and Avven (folk metal) here. The biggest rock band, though, in Slovenia is definitely a band named Siddharta. It’s not heavy metal as such, but I think they are well worth to be mentioned.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music. Facebook is the most popular social media, so we are posting all the new stuff and gossip there (http://www.facebook.com/shadowicon). The more “official” info can be found on our official web site www.shadowicon.com. We are also very happy to reply to any questions that arrive on info@shadowicon.com.

 

Leave a Reply

