Nina Jones

Capture

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I started singing seriously around 12/13 years old. I had singing lessons from Charlotte Church’s singing teacher Louise Ryan. She was very strict but taught me a lot. When I was about 10 yrs old however I did perform in ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ at The Wales Millennium Centre with Aled Jones and H from Steps! As well as Pop music I love Musical Theatre and sang a lot of Musical Theatre stuff as a younger girl. I was in the final of ‘The UK Open Mic’ contest a few years back and was Runner Up in ‘The Star Of Stage’ contest 2 yrs ago. I got to meet Connie Fisher through that who was great.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To make my living full time as a professional singer.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I currently don’t write my own music.  I am working on some new ideas with Darren Parry however, the co-writer of my debut single for some new original songs.

I’m just beginning to learn how to get ideas for songs.

 

 4. Who are your top three influences and why?

I’m very much inspired by the music of Adele and Sam Smith. On my debut album I’ve done a cover of “One and Only” by Adele. I also love John Legend; there is a cover of “All Of Me” on there too (you can check out my Soundcloud for these tracks: soundcloud.com/ninajonesmusic) but Carrie Underwood is a favourite of mine also. Sorry that’s my top 4!!!

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

“Never Let You Go” I think is a great, infectious, foot tapping Pop/R&B song. It was written by the talented and award winning songwriters Darren Parry/Dan and Laura Curtis and produced by Darren Parry. The video for the song has just been finished too and can be seen on my Facebook page and on Youtube. A talented guy called Rob Reed filmed the video and the great Al Steele and Ceri Darknell of Shabbey Road Studio directed/edited it.  I love it! I think the video is funky and fresh…see what you think!

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in Newport, South Wales. The music scene in South Wales has always been vibrant. Revolution, Newport has a great spot in it’s downstairs room for acoustic spots a few times a week and The Live Lounge in Cardiff is very good for live music/open mic etc. The Glanfa Stage of The Wales Millennium Centre is somewhere I’m hoping to play soon also.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?Darren Parry who co-wrote “Never Let You Go” is a very talented singer as well as an award-winning songwriter. Check him out on: www.darrenparry.com

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

http://www.facebook.com/ninajonesmusic

http://www.twitter.com/ninajonesmusic

http://www.soundcloud.com/ninajonesmusic

Leave a Reply

