No Mad Karma

NO MAD KARMA MAIN 27 PROMO SHOT

 

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

 SYE:    I was born into the Music /Entertainment industry my Father was Frankie Vaughan

 AIDOS:I started to learn piano at age 5 and In 1994 I formed pop-folk band URKER who are still rocking on Kazakhstan music scene. I play keyboards, Dombrya and Sing.

PRESTON: My school Band Sanctuary got signed to Polydor Records – Phil Collins was a member for a while (thats where he started the 2 Drummer thing). We recorded our Album in Rockfield Studios Wales – Amazingly Same place I Produced the No Mad Karma Album – Rockfield’s Still Rocking!

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

SYE:     To make people as entertained as my Dad Frankie did!

AIDOS:  Oh I’m not guessing so far)) just enjoining the process of making music.

PRESTON: TO KEEP ON KEEPIN ON HAVING A BALL IN MUSIC WITH NO MAD KARMA – MUSIC LIFE = I HEARTILY RECOMEND IT!

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

SYE:     I was writing and making up stories and poems as a child and then in my teens naturally began writing lyrics to melodies

AIDOS: Since I started school I guess – First a  sort of polyphonic piano piece of 8 bars – My dad (also a composer) was really proud)) My first Songs were written for Kazakh Band Urker

PRESTON: Since my Kate Bush Band Days 1980 – She opened my mind to the endless possibilities and now I cannot Stop! Always a new Melody and Groove on repeat in my head!

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

SYE      :1/ Donny Hathaway ,..because his style for me was the original “daddy”that kicked off and inspired the term Soul Singer

              2/ Sly Stone ,…his Fresh album changed my life and direction with his unique free extemporisation vocal style

              3: Otis Redding

AIDOS:  Luckily I was born in a musical and theatrical family so grew up soaking in three types of music: Classics, Rock and Kazakh folk. In classic I was obsessed by Stravinsky, Bartok, Shostakovich compositions, in rock The Beatles + I’m a huge Led Zeppelin fan ))). In folk music its Kurmangazy. (a famous XIX cent. folk composer who wrote fantastic and virtuosic pieces for Kazakh main instrument Dombyra.

So to cut the story short: Shostakovich, Led Zep, Kurmangazy  – makes a deadly mixture)))

PRESTON: The Beatles – Frank Zappa – Joni Mitchell

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

SYE:    The words I wrote for “27” came in a torrent of pain and utter frustration on the day my cousin Amy Winehouse died and for all the other members of the enigmatic 27 club.

AIDOS: “27” originally was written for my Kazakh Band URKER in our language. The idea of writing “27” Lyrics in English came from Sye.

PRESTON:   “27” Is Very Different, Very Deep and a Musical Celebration!

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

SYE: My home is Camden Town ,..I love my ‘ hood’ the market and the endless variety of clubs and music scenes ,..Jazz Cafe ,Dingwalls,’Under Solo ‘The Forge ,..I would always highly recommend Camden as a creative place to hang out in,..because it’s crazy mix,. of countless influences ,allows you to escape the monotonous predictability of urban life ,.and why so many artistes writers and contemporary Bohemians can be found here!

AIDOS: Almaty, Kazakhstan –  The Brooklyn Bar in Almaty = Great Jazz! (although Preston will probably tell you Soho Bar) 🙂

PRESTON: London England – The Music Scene is incredible and you can find anything here! I like to chill at The KPH in Ladbroke Grove – Great Music and Great Guinness!

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

SYE:      The list of artistes are endless ,..but every week in Camden there is always some great live gig going on!

AIDOS:  I’d recommend folk group TURAN who are my long time collaborators and also involved in the NO MAD KARMA album recording sessions. They brilliantly play Kazakh traditional instruments like Dombyra, kobyz, zhetygen, sybyzgy, it might be interesting for western audiences to chek them and discover new sounds from the heart of Central Asia!

PRESTON: The Friends Of Ronnie Gordon!

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

                              https://soundcloud.com/no-mad-karma

                              https://www.facebook.com/pages/No-Mad-Karma/565233666940087

                              https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mhf1C1k0iIc

                              https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_cHmUk9YG4Kz-SmbvO3ntA/feed?activity_view=3

Leave a Reply

