Roberta Howett

Roberta Howett, Fanfair

 

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I learned to sing and play piano at school, when I was 5 or 6 years old – that’s when I started!  I used to sing in competitions growing up but never ever thought of it as a potential career.  When I went to college, I set up a band with 2 of my best friends and we recorded some demos and were signed to a management company.  Then an opportunity came to audition for XFactor, and I got through to the live shows.  That was when I thought ‘ok maybe this could work!’.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I would love to write a huge hit and have it on the soundtrack to a movie!  That would be awesome!  Or to have a hit with a Christmas song – I love that time of year!

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I started when I was about 18.  I started writing poetry / lyrics first, and then melodies followed.

 

4.Who are your top three influences and why?

Minnie Ripperton is one of my top influences, because her voice is so beautiful, unique, clear, powerful and moving!  I was such a huge fan of Michael Jackson growing up.  His songs are incredible, and with every performance he gives his best.  Right now, one of my biggest influences is Ed Sheeran, as his style is completely his own and his voice and delivery are flawless with every performance!

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?  

I wrote my current release at home after having a chat with a good friend on the reality of being out of a relationship!  As a single girl I see people around me thinking there’s something wrong with being single, rather than just enjoying the time to ourselves and finding our own path. 

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in London and I love it!  I live south west so its pretty chilled, but there are lots of great venues all over London.  I went to see Laura Marling recently at The Silver Bullet by Finsbury Park, and that was awesome as it’s an intimate venue.  I was also lucky enough to see Kate Bush at Hammersmith Apollo which was incredible – that’s a brilliant venue!

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to? There are so many artists I love at the moment; one of my favourites from the UK is James Bay, hes super talented!  He played at the Burberry fashion show last year, so perhaps not so local anymore!  Then, as I’m Irish, one of my favourites from Ireland is Kodaline – they’re brilliant and have really moving videos!

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can hear more about me on www.robertahowett.com, and more tracks on Soundcloud, https://soundcloud.com/roberta-howett.  You can follow me on twitter @robertahowett, and also on Instagram @bertyhowett.

Leave a Reply

