Wings Of Pegasus Q&A

Wings of Pegasus

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

  • It was about 10 years ago, I had written a few songs and put them up on a local music forum asking if people liked it and whether anyone wanted to start a band! I met a guitarist and a drummer, we started to meet up and jam together, then a few months later we acquired a singer and bassist. We gigged as much as we could and recorded an e.p. Unfortunately we only lasted 2 years, so then the process started again!

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

  • I’d love to be able to do music full time, I’m quite ambitious so I’d love to do a world tour at some point! My aim in the industry I guess is to be the best new rock/hard rock band to come out of the UK and make an impact. I always try to ensure that the music is the best it can be, and just try and write good songs. We haven’t had a ‘Queen’ type effect with any rock band recently from London or the UK, so I think it’s time we showed the world we can still rock! I know it’s ambitious, but i know there’s a worldwide audience for it.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

  • About 12 years, I started when I was 19 just putting riffs and melodies together. My first songs were probably awful, but you learn as you go and try and be as subjective as possible! I didn’t used to sing back then, so I played my guitar to map out the melodies I wanted. As I couldn’t sing very well I made sure that I could play on my guitar what I was thinking, so at least it came out how I wanted it to!

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

  • Jimi Hendrix first of all, as listening to him got me into playing the guitar. I used to spend hours figuring out what he was doing and replicating it on my guitar. I think one of the first songs I learnt to play was ‘Little Wing’, it probably took me a while as I was still a beginner, but I practised and played whenever I could, much to the annoyance of my sister in the room next door!
  • Second was probably Gary Moore. Playing wise I liked his style and it was here that I first heard various blues lines and playing at speed. Again, it was a case of listening, working out what he was doing, and adapting it to my own playing style.
  • Thirdly is Van Halen. I used to have a tape of his on a ‘walkman’, much like Marty McFly in Back To The Future! It was a bit worn in places but still sounded awesome. I then spent a lot of hours practising tapping and other techniques he used. Listening to Van Halen led me onto other 80’s guitarists, but I’d say my playing style is certainly influenced by these three.  

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

  • The current release That’s Metal (to my ears) is part of an online campaign to get us to number one. As an unsigned band has never done this, it would be creating history. I’m trying anything and everything possible to make this happen as the profits will go to Cancer Research UK and I hope to raise a lot of money! The page is www.facebook.com/makecharthistory. The video for the song was filmed in Piccadilly Circus so check it out if you have an air guitar handy!

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

  • I’m based in Maidenhead, the other band members are in Ealing, Wokingham, Burham, basically all over the place! The local scene in Maidenhead is pretty shocking to be honest! I wouldn’t say it’s a town where music thrives, but then again nowadays for unsigned bands it’s hard to say that about any town. We used to venture into London gigging regularly for 2 years, but as we didn’t get paid for a single gig, we ended up not being able to afford to go out and play. Also, when we played to 5 people on a Friday night in Leicester Square, it hit home that there just wasn’t a music scene and no one was coming out to watch unsigned bands!

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

  • In terms of rock bands there aren’t many around! There’s a band called ‘The Quotes’ who sound great and are over Reading way, I listen to all sorts of music and I’ll listen to anything! Jampaw are another local band, not a rock band, but I like their style.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Leave a Reply

