Aubrey Q&A

 

PRImage

How did you get your initial start in music?

  •  I’ve always been musical. Since I was a kid I was able to ‘make up’ songs without being able to play any instruments. My dad is a fantastic musician and taught me how to play the keyboard and guitar when I was 11 and 15. After that I wrote hundreds of songs, formed a band, gigged a lot, signed a management contract, set up my own label and then moved to London in 2008 to really push my music career. It’s only been the last year or so when I set up my own record label that things started to really happen for me.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

  •  My passion has always been songwriting so I think establishing myself as a good pop songwriter who can write hit records would the ultimate aim for me.

How long have you been writing your own music?

  • I wrote my first song when I was 11 years old when I got a Casio keyboard for Christmas. But before I could even play an instrument I would write lyrics to instrumental tracks and make up my own songs. So I’ve been writing songs for around 24 years now and have continually written songs for myself and other artists!

 

Who are your top three influences and why?

  • I am mostly influenced by songs rather than specific artists but I was a teenager during the Brit-pop era and Oasis were a huge influence on my songwriting at the time. I moved from writing songs on the keyboard to picking up a guitar and learning to play that. Since then I’ve mostly been influenced by the styles of American pop-rock artists such as The Calling and Daughtry.

 

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

  •  Every Cloud is a very personal song for me. I wrote it when I was 17 but back then it was called ‘Despite Yourself’. In early 2015 I re-wrote the lyrics so people would connect with the song more. Out of the hundreds of songs I have written, Every Cloud is probably one of my favourite songs to sing.

 

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

  •  I currently live in Tooting in South London. There is a great live venue there called the Tooting Tram & Social which I’ve performed at a couple of times. Further afield, I really enjoyed playing at the infamous Troubadour in Earl’s Court last month.

 

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

  •  People should check out Matt Belmont, he runs an open-mic night at the Tooting Tram and Social on Tuesday evenings and is a great singer-songwriter. I also saw a great musician called Aidan Byrne at the Troubadour who was really impressive.

 

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Leave a Reply

