Adam, Hear The Sea

0024-2-1-a

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

My house always had something rattling in the background. My older brother was in a traditional Greek band and they used to rehearse in our living room and much to their annoyance I used to be fascinated by it all. My mum worked from home as a seamstress so was always on this really loud, monstrous industrial sewing machine, so i had to find ways of amusing myself. We had a prehistoric record deck, one of those hideous 70’s things that was built into a table and had speakers built in…and at around the age of 7 I figured out how to wire a mic into it so I could sing over my favourite records. We didn’t have many – we had lots of Cat Stevens, some Elvis and buckets of Greek stuff. And Sade.

 

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To be able to do what I love full time. To be able to hide a way for some of the year somewhere remote and just write and see what happens. To make shit loads of money (then i’m gonna quit this crazy scene) – pretty sure that’s nearly a Joni Mitchell song! To do it all but be uneffected, without ego. To play to a crowd but still stay grounded. I’d like to write for others too at some point.

 

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

I started taking it all seriously at around 14.

 

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

This probably changes on an hour to hour basis for me but this is accurate as of today!

Joni Mitchell – she is like a mother to me. She encourages me and is like the fairy Godmother of all artists.  Her lyrics resonate with a part of my self that once once hard and stale and I think she has played a big part in softening it.

Patti Smith. I love her. Her book ‘Just Kids’ – ooof – she is visceral. I don’t like all her music, I love some of it, but I am drawn to her as a woman. She is powerful – there is something Shamanic about her.

The Smiths – They just epitomise ‘Britishness’. Their lyrics are honest sad and self-deprocating but the music is upbeat most of the time. i like that Juxtaposition.

 

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I hope it resonates with you. It’s from the heart and from a vulnerable place that i don’t always know how to show.

 

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in east London, near Walthamstow. My local scene would be the Hackney Wick, Dalston scene. I don’t go to gigs that often anymore as there is a danger of me being a little too hedonistic. I like The Old Blue in Shoreditch, played a few fun nights there in past projects – I find Birthdays in Dalston a bit too aware of itself.

 

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Check out my Grainne: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WnOmZWOoX_s – her voice is just something else.

 

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

For up to date news check out www.adamhearthesea.com or catch me at www.facebook.com/adamhearthesea or tweet me and tell me what you think of ’Sorrow’ @adamhearthesea

 

Leave a Reply

