Berenice Scott Q&A

Berenice Scott Torso Shot

How did you get your initial start in music?

  • I come from a musical background, my parents are artists and I played piano and sang from a very young age. I was lucky to be surrounded by music and musical instruments growing up. 

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

  • I just enjoy it when people are affected by a song or piece of music; to be the soundtrack to a moment – no matter how big or small – in someones life is a wonderful thing.

How long have you been writing your own music?

  • I started writing songs at 16, but started writing classical pieces on piano at 11.

Who are your top three influences and why?

  • Impossible to say three, but as an idea I would say my parents (from their own music, to the wide scope of music played at home from Prince and P-Funk to the Latin flavours of The Gypsy Kings and Paco de Lucia), certain producers – Patrick Leonard, Bill Bottrell, Quincy Jones to name a few – as I have always been interested in the production as well as the song, and a host of writers and composers encompassing Rickie Lee Jones, Rod Temperton, Debussey to name a few.

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

  • Give it a whirl, you never know what you might find!

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

  • London. The scene is vast, exciting and open to anyone who can cart their keyboard/guitar across town on the tube.. I have a range of trolleys for such purposes! I will always have a soft spot for the Halfmoon in Putney.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

  • If you head down to Pizza Express Jazz Club Soho on any given day, you’ll be sure to have a lively evening filled with great music and food. I did my album launch at this cool, intimate venue. 

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Leave a Reply

