Interview – GO PRIMITIVE

How did you get your initial start in music

Tomm: My Dad used to play his guitar to me as a child, and let me listen to his Led Zeppelin records. This began my love of rock and eventually my pursuit of a career in it.

Teale: My step dad introduced me to the drums and after taking me to see Deep Purple and Lynyrd skynyrd, that was it for me I had to be in a band!

Ben: My parents randomly brought me a guitar for Christmas along with the Darkness permission to land tablature book, need I say anymore 😉

Adam: My parents are incredibly supportive it was obvious from an early age that an academic career wasn’t for me so they pushed me towards a more creative route. I played lots of instruments growing up but when I held my first electric guitar, that’s when I first fell in love with music. My guitar teacher would put gigs on at a local village hall and after I played my first that’s when I became pretty obsessed with being in music for the rest of my life.

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Tomm: Just to be able to survive off making music and touring, and for as many people as possible to hear the music we make.

Teale: Play the music I love, connect with people, and enjoy the experience with my musical brothers for a living.

Ben: Just to be able to play our music as a career, not necessarily making money, just enough to keep us doing what we want to do

Adam: My ultimate aim would be to be able to make enough money to be able to make music my full time job and keep on creating with the other guys in the band because it’s the dynamic of our relationships the successes, the failures, the parties and the arguments that keep the soul in what we do.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Tomm: I used to write songs for my school band at the age of 13. They were pretty bad, but you hone your signwriting skills over time (hopefully!)

Teale: I have been writing music for over 12 years.

Ben: I started out playing covers and learning favourite songs from between the ages of 12-13 it is only since joining bands over the last few years I have been writing my own material

Adam: For as long as I can remember, I think once you’ve learned a few chords and mastered your favorite songs it’s hard not to day dream with your guitar and create by accident.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Tomm:

1. Dave Grohl – I love his song writing, his aggressive voice, and his way of communicating with an audience.

2. Eddie Van Halen – If I was not introduced to the band Van Halen when I was learning guitar as a young teenager, I would not have the love for Lead guitar that I do now. Eddie’s playing is a huge influence on why I sound like I sound as a guitarist.

3. Tony Iommi – I was lucky enough to have met Tony when I was in my first serious band. I played in a band with Tony’s Daughter called ‘LunarMile.’ Tony was present in a lot of the studio sessions we did, and he gave me experience and advice that I will never forget.

Teale:

1. Drumming wise Thomas Lang. His style,  his groove, his technique is incredible! An inspiration to have the dedication and perseverance to achieve such a high level of skill.

2. Musical Wise Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge. His voice and melody writing is simply magical

3. Band Wise Probably Metallica not so much for their music nowadays but for what they stand for as a band. The longevity, the brotherhood, and the dedication… Also the black album was the first album I owned (Well.. I stole my brothers copy).

Ben:

1. Linkin Park

2. Nickelback

3. A day to remember

For me these bands have molded my music taste to what it is today

Adam: I’m personally really into the performance side of things so while I’ve got some influences based on music, the people who’ve really shaped how I play are those I’ve seen live putting on awesome shows with huge stages and big stage sets or teeny tiny barely squeeze your amp and pedal board on spaces; so with that in mind I’d have to say Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro), Jamie Lenman (Reuben) and Paul Townsend (Hunded Reasons)

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Its melodic, its heavy, its soft, its fast, its slow, its raw… it has something for everyone! The songs for the current release actually came about very quickly, but are drawn from a mix of emotions that ultimately spell out the trials and tribulations of an underground band, fighting to get heard.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are based in Rugby and Leamington Spa, Warwickshire. Our local Venue’s are the Vault, which have had us open for the likes of We Are The Ocean and The Subways there before. And our other favourite home venue is the Zephyr Lounge in Leamington Spa. We got close to selling it out on a headline show a few weeks ago.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

WARS are from Rugby and they are doing really well. Great if you like your music on the heavier side.

TRUE HEIGHTS are from the Leamington Spa area and are also doing really well and a great bunch of guys

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

www.goprimitive.co.uk

Also Hit us up on Facebook – www.facebook.com/goprimitiveuk , twitter – @goprimitive and youtube for the latest videos www.youtube.com/gopritv

Our EP 100 Ways is now available for pre order on iTunes, Google Play and Amazon MP3.

Capture

Leave a Reply

