Johnny Wore Black – Interview

How did you get your initial start in music?

I was writing poems as a kid. Started playing guitar when I was about 14 and when I was 16 my dad bought be a day in a recording studio which was my first professional recording experience and the song was called ’See You’

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate aim would be to have my music reach as wide an audience as possible and for its audience to take a personal and memorable experience from listening.

How long have you been writing your own music?

Since I was about 11

Who are your top three influences and why?

Maynard James Keenan and Tool/Perfect Circle because of their astonishing ability to use melody in such extreme shades of light and dark which make the music captivating.

Johnny Cash because of his story telling ability, honesty and because he was the inspiration for the name of my band! If there was no Johnny Cash there’d be no Johnny Wore Black!

Metallica simply because they work so hard continue to pump out pop metal and their gigs are such a laugh!

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I just want people to enjoy the music and the accompanying videos and like with all music my hope would be that the songs become meaningful to people for their own reasons.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I split my time between North London and Brighton. Recently been seeing some great live music at the Underground in Camden and Concorde 2 in Brighton.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

If you google Johnny Wore Black we seem to be fairly prolific on the web and you can see us on YouTube and both albums are available to buy on iTunes.

FullSizeRender

https://twitter.com/johnnyworeblack

https://www.facebook.com/johnnyworeblack

http://www.johnnyworeblack.com

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYn6oNZhgfPL2KrPd8oWeFw

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/walking-underwater-pt.-2/id944919571

Leave a Reply

