Shackleton Interview

COVER

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?
  • My initial start in music began when I was a kid mainly because my dad played guitar, so I wanted to as well. I tried to start bands with anyone I could and over the years realized it was easier to do everything myself than trying to keep a functional band together.
  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?
  • My ultimate goal is to be able to release at least one album per year and have each one be completely different from the next, both musically and conceptually.
  1. How long have you been writing your own music?
  • I’ve been writing my own music since I was around 12 years old.
  1. Who are your top three influences and why?
  • Chuck Schuldiner/Death – Besides being my favorite guitarist, Chuck inspired me with the way he wrote his music without following any rules and doing anything he wanted. I can never get enough of the random but brilliant transitions that Death has which is something that has heavily influenced my music.
  • Tool – The things that have influenced me about Tool is their complex time signatures and that their albums flow from beginning to end as one piece. I believe music should be listened to and written like a movie. You don’t just watch a scene in the middle of the movie, you watch the whole thing. Same applies to music.
  • Mastodon – Mastodon influenced me heavily conceptually, present from even their earliest albums. Also, their combination of raw talent puts them as one of my favorite rock bands currently active now.
  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?
  • This current release has a historical context to it, in that it follows Ernest Shackleton on his journey to the South Pole over 100 years ago. This turned into one of the the greatest survival stories of all time. The album uses rock music to elaborate, magnify and play with the emotions of Shackleton’s journey at all stages. The album is unique, in that it combines a narrative with rock music, making it understandable and enjoyable for a wide audience.
  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?
  • I’m based at a farm in rural Wisconsin. There are no scene or venues.
  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?
  • Sorry, but like the previous answer, cows and corn are the only local scene around here.
  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.
Leave a Reply

