Neil C. Young – Interview

  1. How did you get your initial start in music? 

SInce about 4 years of age I’ve been making music, music is in my family so it was inevitable I guess. First instrument I played was the piano at home and then the recorder at infant school, then I tried all sorts until stuck on viola and then moved onto the Guitar where I’ve been mainly since I was 18.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Not sure its an industry aim, but I just want to be able to continue to create and play music til I can’t no more.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

FIrst ‘riff’ I remember writing when I was 5 or 6 but that was a flukey piano key moment I reckon, I’ve been composing since school began, short bits here and there and the just carried on. Don’t recall having a ‘moment’ or anything dramatic like that.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

My dad – always encouraging, always creating, always enjoying what he does.

Gary Boyle – My first guitar tutor (and still unknown to him) mentor. His constant pursuit and drive to always improve.

The Black Crowes – Have a good time. if you’re not enjoying it then what are you doing?!

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Two things spring to mind, firstly the line up is non-conventional, it uses 2 Drum Kits, 4 Horns (Baritone saxophone, Bass Clarinet/Clarinet and 2 Trumpets) along with Guitar and Bass Guitar. The 2nd thing is that most of the tracks on the recording used a method of composition that’s new to me. I started by writing melodies first rather than harmony and then applying serial techniques to try and move away from the more conventional tonic – dominant tonality I’ve used and worked in so far. I was getting bored of writing the same thing so needed to find a new way, so I just did the opposite thing.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I recently moved from the north west from a town called Colne where there is a lot going on for a town the size of what it is. Always music going on in 2/3 pubs from jazz to rock n’ roll singers. Numerous venues have stuff on – The Venue, The 12 Bar, Green Chimney, The Admiral Lord Rodney, Jim’s Cafe, Boyce’s Barrel, Dressers, (I am about halfway through all the pubs in Colne here so I’ll rest my mind….)

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Well, erm, I’ll no doubt forget one or two and upset someone (Sorry! (sensitive artistic souls and that!) but a few from Colne – J Bear and the Giants, Dan Arnold, Chris Manley, Baxter Rhodes and The Folkestra are all doing different some great stuff.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can find me at www.neilcyoungtrio.com or on twitter @neilcyoung there is a facebook page neilcyoungtrio. There are various internet radio streaming sites have my music playing as well

Capture2

Leave a Reply

