Olivia Shafique – Interview

  • How did you get your initial start in music?

I have been singing for as long as I can remember, mainly in the theatre doing musicals. I met my current manager online. We were emailing initially after he heard a song I posted on YouTube, after that we met one evening to discuss what he was doing and what he was looking for. That’s where it all began back in February this year.

  • What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

Of course my aim is to be signed with a label I love, I see myself traveling the world performing and doing festivals. Until then I am working on perfecting my sound and my style.

  • How long have you been writing your own music?

I have been writing music since I was 19. Although I had been singing and studying music from a very young age I only started writing when I attended Italia Conti. Learning chords changed how I did everything. Being able to write my own music became a whole new passion. I loved being able to express my true self through my music, I haven’t looked back since.

  • Who are your top three influences and why?

Without sounding cliché I was a MASSIVE Whitney Houston fan growing up. It was definitely listening to her songs that drove my passion and made me want to be a singer. I would perform her songs at family parties since I was about 5 years old. I still to this day don’t think there is a voice that could match hers.

As I got a bit older I became a massive fan of Eminem, I loved his honest lyrics and growing up in Spain I hadn’t really heard any artists like him before. I list him as an influence because he made me want to be a rapper,( I genuinely did until I was about 13 haha)! Luckily I grew up and realised that probably wasn’t the best idea but I still love his music today and will always be a massive fan.

Lastly I would say The Streets. It was the 1st time I had heard that really English sound. When I first started writing music I would always sing my songs with a strong British accent. I also love that their songs are so honest, something everyone can relate to. Their song Blinded by the Lights is still to this day my favourite song.

  • Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release is the perfect tune for the summer, it’s all about feeling good and picking yourself up. If there’s anytime to listen to it’s now. Its available on iTunes so definitely one to buy if you’re feeling a bit down and want a song to cheer you up.

  • Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m currently still at home with my parents. We live in Staines which of course is well known for ‘Ali G’. In terms of local venues it’s pretty quiet around my area, there are a few bars in Windsor which show live acts on the weekends such as the ticket hall and fire station, it’s always fun to head there and check out the new local talents.

  • Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

As far as my local scene goes there aren’t many up and coming artists that I’m hearing about. I know Disclosure were from a town very close to me in Surrey which is great. It gives me hope to think that if you work hard that one day you will make it no matter where you’re from or who you know!

  • Give our readers a roundup of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

You can find me on Facebook for anything music related on my fan page. I also have Instagram and Twitter which will give people a more personal insight into my life as well as all things music. And of course any performances/songs and videos I do will be posted on YouTube.

OLIVIA MY MUSIC COVER

Leave a Reply

