Know Me Better:

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

 

I only ever remember being able to play music. I could play 5 instruments by the time I was 10. My initial start was founded in a raw connection I felt with it. Though at a much later stage when I was performing in a professional theatre show the director encouraged me to change direction. He believed I was an artist for the music industry. I performed my own tunes at the after show party and the rest is history.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

At one point I would of said winning awards. However my producer took me to The Brits this year and I was depressed for days afterwards. I was looking under the table cloths for something more. Even if I’d been the one up there winning I believe I still would have thought “is this it??” It became apparent that the whole thing was tied around money. I was shocked to learn of the extortionate amounts that artists and labels pay for their filmed seats. Then even more shocked by the figures that I learned labels spend to ensure their artists will win. But they do this knowing that the money spent will be doubled in return for the headline of ‘winner’. It’s all plastic, egotistical bull-shit. So my aim is not stardom or money or awards any longer. I guess it’s to share my musical gifts. To allow as many sexy souls as possible to step out of their corruptive mind chatter and get lost in the moment of the sounds.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

 

I started writing my own songs aged 10 or 11. My first performance of an original song was to the

top deck of a` 221 in Finchley. It was a pop song called ‘I want you’. I was playing my child sized acoustic guitar, singing and my girlfriends were on backing vocals. We were 13 at the time.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

It’s hard to say as I don’t listen to music. At least not in the conventional sense. There’s no music on my phone. I have never downloaded anything. I can count the number of CDs I bought as a teenager on one hand. But I played saxophone in big band orchestras for years on end. I’ve spent hours upon hours of my life fine tuning my vocal skills simply for the pure joy it brings me. Everyone I’ve lived with or been in a relationship with has played music of all kinds continuously. Music is everywhere and it lives in me. But it does so as music, not words and labels. I write entire compositions in my head. A rare talent shared by the likes of Mozart. I could read music from a young age that would translate to impressive recitals but my teachers were surprised I couldn’t tell them the names of notes or know the name of which key I was playing in! This unconventionality has a profound impact on what I create now. I have never been tied down to only MY genre of music that I’m into. I love music. Every kind. This has allowed for me to create a fresh and unique genre all of my own. It is a reflection of me. Not a reflection of a style I’ve been into. If I had to name names, David Bowie, Amy Winehouse, Pearl Jam all spring to mind. But these aren’t my greatest influences. I know hundreds of musicals by heart too but that’s not my greatest influence either. It probably has to be emotions, life itself and every amateur or professional DJ or performer I’ve had the pleasure of sharing ears with.

 

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

 

The song came to me in a dream and I programmed it in one day. It was also remixed by some huge names and climbed to No.14 in the dance pop charts UK – beating Madonna’s position that week and falling only one behind Emelie Sande.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

 

I grew up in London but I’m living just north of the city now. I travel in often to see friends and go out. I had a great evening at Ace Hotel – Shoreditch recently. They hold an impressive acoustic performance evening there.

 

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

My musician friend Martyna Baker is a gemstone.

 

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Find me on Facebook and Twitter. My music’s on Soundcloud and there’s even more of it on

ReverbNation…

https://www.facebook.com/Elena-Roxy-Rose-284515024946367/

https://twitter.com/elenaroxyrose

https://www.reverbnation.com/elenaroxyrose

https://soundcloud.com/elenaroxyrose

Leave a Reply

