Interview: Thula Borah

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

The band started quite organically. I was demoing songs and Matt surprised me by learning the bass to start the band. We began playing with a drum machine before a friend helped out on drums. When webooked our first gig we realised we needed another dimension to our sound and had already jammed with Kev so he was a natural fit to join us. We finally nailed Mikey as our permanent drummer a few years ago. Since then we’ve just been building ourselves up from being unknowns and having to settle for poor deals and bad gigs to putting on our own successful gigs and tours as well as releasing our own music. Another break for us was meeting renowned producer Andy Miller just as he was setting up his own studio, so we have learned from working with someone who recorded some of our favourite music.

 

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I would love for music to be our full time job. I know there are plenty of tales of woe from bands in the recording/touring cycle, but at this stage in our lives I think we would love to be doing that and be totally immersed in it. I would love it if every day my life involved working on music.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

Since 1994 scarily, when I first heard Nirvana’s Unplugged In New York and I dug out an old acoustic guitar that my cousin had given me. I just immediately started trying to write my own songs rather than learning others.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

It is very tough to strip it down to just three, so I may try and crowbar a few more in. First of all would be the aforementioned Nirvana. I know it is quite clichéd but that band totally changed my life and from then on music became my obsession. I learned guitar and desperately wanted to be in a band because of them so they always have to rank first in my influences. Next I would say Tool. Alongside Smashing Pumpkins they were the first band I got into that had a progressive element that let songs breathe, develop and often spin off into different places. Getting into them was a great learning curve for composing our music. Third of all I would say Mogwai. Again, hearing them just opened up so many windows and expanded my horizons on what rock music could be. Almost overnight I was writing instrumental tracks and they were a gateway for getting into other post-rock bands like SigurRos and Isis who further broadened mine and the band’s horizons and have had a huge impact on our songwriting.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

Not hugely. I would just hope people get the chance to give it a listen and form their own thoughts and feelings. Maybe I just can’t think of anything of interest to say about it right now.

 

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are based in Glasgow. It is such a famous, legendary music hub and it really lives up to it with so many bands and venues. Our favourite venue is Nice N Sleazy but we also really like playing Stereo and 13th Note.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There really are so many great bands around in Glasgow and Scotland that we have played with that I don’t know where to start, I’ll feel bad about leaving some out. That said, Halo Tora are my current favourites and I should also mention Wozniak and 3 Days From Retirement who are not only fabulous bands but really nice too.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

All the usual places. You can find our stuff on iTunes as well as Amazon as well as our bandcamp – https://thulaborah.bandcamp.com ; soundcloud – https://soundcloud.com/thulaborah ; and our website – http://thulaborah.com. Facebook and Twitter are the best places to keep in touch with what we are up to.

Leave a Reply

