The Spacer – Interview

The Spacer logo Quite Great

1. How did you get your initial start in music?

– My father bought us a piano when I was 8 and I ended up taking piano lessons from an East German defector, whose nerves were quite shot. Fortunately I continued with a more formal training by attending a special music school all the way to year 10 in addition to my hometown’s Music Conservatory studying piano, clarinet and music theory. However when I joined my first rock band at the age of 15 is what I consider my proper start in pop music. That’s when I wrote first my pop songs, although I still wanted to continue my classical schooling, which took place in the USA after high school.

2. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

– My ultimate dream is to be able to write music, which will move and heal people and make them think positively. Which brings to my ultimate aim: to reach as many people as possible through my songs. I believe that I/we’ll be able to do that with The Spacer project.

3. How long have you been writing your own music?

– Since I’m already quite an old man, I’ve been writing songs for about 3 decades already. My current back catalogue consists of over 800 pop songs plus perhaps 30 odd classical compositions. I’ve acquired a B.A. and a Master’s degree in music composition over the years. So, I guess you could say that I’ve been quite serious about my music writing.

4. Who are your top three influences and why?

– Over the years I’ve been influenced by many great artists, however if I have to name three, I would say that Sting, Enigma and David Bowie have influenced me most. Sting as a lyricist, Enigma as a composer and Bowie as a great innovator within music and style. However I doubt that you can hear much of their influence in my music.

5. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

– I wanted to write a song with a clear message about the state of our world we’re living in and this time from an outsider’s perspective, which in this case is an extra-terrestrial being living amongst us. And he is naturally very concerned about planet Earth and obviously for a  very good reason. And that’s what Creature is all about. Obviously the sound is quite hard and Peter’s voice on top it is the perfect icing on the cake so to speak. We like to call it cinematic dance rock 🙂

6. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favouritevenues?

– I’m based in Chiswick, London, however there’s not much of a music scene in there. London is obviously a different matter.

7. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

– London has so much to offer that I wouldn’t know where to start to be honest. I also spend a lot of time in Helsinki, which also has a vibrant music scene in a smaller scale. However all the major artists also make a stop over there as well. Funnily enough I’ve actually seen all favourite artists in Helsinki. Less people fighting over the same tickets.

8. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

– We have our Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/thespaceruniverse/?ref=hl

And Soundcloud site:

CREATURE feat Peter Cox https://soundcloud.com/t-production-1/the-spacer-creature-feat-peter-cox ALIEN feat Shereen https://soundcloud.com/t-production-1/the-spacer-alien-feat-shereen-and-t-radio-edit GIRLS ON EARTH feat J J Hjelt https://soundcloud.com/t-production-1/girls-on-earth FAREWELL TO EARTH feat Kevin Reynolds https://soundcloud.com/t-production-1/farewell-to-earth-featuring

Those are the best sites at this point. We’re currently working on some interesting and mind-boggling video clips for the The Spacer.

Leave a Reply

