INTERVIEW WITH CORLYX

  • How did you get your initial start in music?

-Caitlin Stokes (Singer/songwriter) : My mother was a musician and a vocalist who taught me how to sing and play guitar when I was 11. I played with some of my musician friends in high school but nothing serious until I moved to LA at 16. I started off doing backup vocals for my mothers melodic rock band Edge Of August, I looked up to her very much. Then I eventually went off on my own to pursue my own style, which was much more dark. I played all over Los Angeles for a couple years, then took a 2 year break to write, unsure if I would ever get back into music, that is until I met Brandon.

-Brandon Ashley (Producer/DJ/Instrumentalist) : My father was a jazz piano player and my grandmother used to work as a singer and as a TV host in Italy during the 50’s. I guess the music genes run in the family. I started off studying the piano and performing at the theatre in Turin since the age of 10 years old. I was 11 years old when I saw David Bowie the first time on the TV: that’s when I decided to become a rockstar. I toured all over Europe, Russia, Indonesia and India with my previous project “Brandon Ashley & The Silverbugs”, sharing the stage with artists like Iron Maiden, Lordi, Skid Row, Brides of Destruction, Lords of the New Church. In 2006 I moved to Los Angeles to explore the US market, forming a band called The Dark, which I still sing for to these days. We performed with Peter Murphy, Orgy, Wednesday 13, Static X. I met Caitlin in 2014 at the bar down the street, called Loaded, in Hollywood. Her magnetic presence and her sensual voice inspired me to create a new project with her named Corlyx.

  • What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

We would like to inspire other people, in the measure that we were influenced by our favorite artists. The music industry desperately needs a new model, based on real innovative music and meaningful lyrics. Writing and performing for the sake of the artistry. Not conforming to trends. Doing what we love everyday.

  • How long have you been writing your own music?

-Brandon Ashley (Producer/DJ/Instrumentalist) : I wrote my first piece of music at the age of 9 and I successfully performed it in front of an audience at Teatro Alfa in Turin. I was a little nervous and my hands were sweating right before I was introduced on stage. I soon enough became addicted to the pre-show adrenaline.

-Caitlin Stokes (Singer/songwriter) : I started writing songs as soon asI learned how to play the guitar, which was at age 11.

  • Who are your top three influences and why?

We are both heavily influenced by the 90’s, which was when we developed our similar musical tastes. It’s hard to narrow it down to 3 but you can definitely hear some NIN, Depesche Mode and Bjork coming through in our work. We love the aspect of heavy dark synths mixed with emotionally driven melodies.

  • Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

This is our first EP, “One Of Us”. It’s theme takes on our experience with living in Los Angeles and the people who are incrediblely cliche to its landscape. “Narcissistic Girls”, “Starlet” and “Nobody’s Happy” display the conversation of materialistic obsession and fame seekers who are constantly trying to fill a void and portray an image that is a lie. This EP was written, recorded and produced by Corlyx, as well as the music videos, all being shot with the iPhone. When you want to create art but don’t have the funds you must find a way is how we feel. We’re thankful for the technology that is available to us in this day in age for it is truly incredible what you can do with a phone.

  • Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are currently based in Turin, Italy. Turin is a place of many obscure legends. Turin lies on the axis of white magic (along with Lyon, France, and Prague) and the axis of black magic (which it shares with London and San Francisco), making it one powerful and magical place, if you believe in that stuff. We relocated to a old family mansion on the hills of Turin, set up a home studio where we are currently writing the music material for our upcoming album. Due to our experience with club nights, we started a new night called Club Toxic LA which was founded in Hollywood and came with us to Turin at Cafè Liber. Weekly we feature different local and international acts, while we DJ great music. We believe in supporting our local scene, as part of the future of music.

  • Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Check out Club Toxic LA Facebook page where we feature bands weekly. We have a lot of great acts playing our night, ranging from rock, metal, alternative and electro.

facebook.com/clubtoxicLA

  • Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Fans should definitely check out our website http://www.corlyxofficial.com which will provide them with our social media, music and video links. We often do free giveaways and we love connecting with our fans, hearing from them and share ideas about our upcoming music.

You can purchase on iTunes our first single “Starlet” at the following link: http://itunes.apple.com/album/id1073316827?ls=1&app=itunes

Watch “Starlet” music video on YouTube here:

9D6A0379

Leave a Reply

