INTERVIEW – Free From Gravity

1.How did you get your initial start in music?

I have always written songs and poetry. In 2002, prior to moving to Spain, a local bar had a jam night. The guy running it struggled to get anyone up. One of my friends told him I played guitar and sing. After some cajoling I said I only play my stuff as I hadn’t really learnt any covers. I got up and did a couple of my own. The reaction was great

Wind forward six months and I’d moved to Spain and I had my birthday. As part of it I decided to learn ten songs to play as a party trick. They went down well. The guy from the bar I front of my house had hear distal and asked me to come down on Fridays to play. I did and initially started learning covers. Then over time I had built up quite a following and threw in a couple of my own songs.

The bar staff then insisted I only played my stuff and when I didn’t they shouted over me. I got the message and the audience loved it

That’s when I decided this was what makes me happy. So the nugget was sown.

 

2.What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I have a dream. To play in front of 10,000 people and have them sing our songs. This was born in 1994 when I saw the Eagles at Wembley. They started playing Lyin’ Eyes and everyone sang along. It made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.

In 2010 I wrote the Song “I Have A Dream” to reflect this. In 2014 we played to 200 people in Valencia. We had them singing and dancing all the way through for two hours. No mean feat as they were all English songs played to a Spanish Audience and they had never heard them before.

3.How long have you been writing your own music?

My first poem I wrote at around 12. The first song I co Wrote was when I was 15 called “Smoke Without Flame”. Ironically it was a protest song against Britain’s Nuclear Weapons (Polaris) and I ended up being in charge of that exact same system as a Submariner in the Royal Navy.

 

4.Who are your top three influences and why?

  • Pink Floyd.

I love the build up of Floyd songs like “Coming Back To Life” and “Comfortably Numb” and the pure simply city of “Wish You Were Here”.

I also love be the lingering guitar solos that just tell their own story. It’s indicative when you hear a band playing a Pink Floyd song. The crowd sing it note for note and are mightily cheesed off if the guitarist doesn’t play note perfect the solo.

  • The Eagles

Probably the best band for vocal and guitar Harmonies ever. I love the interplay between the guitars and we try to emulate this in our own music in songs such as The Long Road, It’s Over Now and Don’t Say Goodbye

The vocals are just melting. Perfect in every way.

  • U2.

I know this will irk a few people but Bono knows how to connect and engage an audience. One of the best performances I ever saw was their performance of “Bad” at Live Aid in 1985. 11″30′ long it was enchanting to watch and the audience lapped it up. We try to use the same philosophy of engaging audiences in our own shows.

 

5.Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

It is a song written about the battle that we face in life. It was specific to my mums battle with cancer but it equally applies to any struggle. I love had people tell me about their troubles with Alcohol, diabetes, gamble nag and anxiety. All had the same message – it’s easier to battle when you have the support of he people around you

Last September we played it at PUSH Recovery in Southsea. This was a festival for people who were recovering alcoholics and drug addicts. To make it special we had a 20 piece female choir sing with us. Then at he end, my mum was in the audience so I asked her to come on stage and tell her story. She did so briefly and I doubt here was a dry eye in the house. Very emotional.

All profits will go to the charity www.yestolife.org.uk

 

6.Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

We are based in Portsmouth UK. It’s a great place to be and the like cal music scene is very good. Loads of pubs and venues with music on.

Favourite venues would be Black Note in Valencia, The Fat Fox in Southsea, Water Rats in London, Talking Heads in Southampton and The Bedford Tavern in Balham.

 

7.Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

Blackfoot Circle. Great band great music and going places.

KAssassin street – on the spacey side but good to listen to

British Sea Power. Absolutely fantastic band.

 

8.Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Our website is www.freefromgravitymusic.com

FB is www.facebook.com/freefromgravitymusic

Twitter Freefromgravitymusic

The Long Road is available on iTunes and other download sites as well as Spotify and other streaming services from April 8th 2016.

Capture

 

Leave a Reply

