RAVING WILD – INTERVIEW

  • How did you get your initial start in music?

I picked up a guitar at the age of 12 and I’m not sure if you’d call the noises I made music at the time! I persisted and although I was awful I joined a band called the Dingbats Of Danger Street. To this day I’m convinced it was not for my vocal ability I was invited but because I was brave and stupid enough to wear a gold thong on stage. Only the thong too.

  • What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

I’m not looking for huge amounts of fame, riches or any of the rest of it. I’d just like to be able to support myself and play some great shows with a crowd that could say they really understood what I write about. Of course, if anything else followed from that I certainly wouldn’t look a gift horse in the mouth, I’d just be equally content with a lot less.

  • How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing and dedicating myself to it seriously for about 4 years now, I feel confident enough in my songwriting on this particular release to reach out and share this. I hope my most recent EP is perceived not just as music but a conveyance of lessons learned and I only now feel I have experienced enough and have something truly to say.

  • Who are your top three influences and why?

I have to place Thrice on my charts only on diversity of material, they have evolved so much since the start of their career and still going strong, I’ve never heard a band as dynamic as them. Another influence is actually a good friend of mine called Dan Chapman, his vocal is so crisp and his technique is flawless, he taught me a lot of what I know know although I’d never profess to being as good. Lastly, I’d say a band called My Vitriol, their songs are soundscapes and each one is crafted to the mood.

  • Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I’d really like to encourage everyone to listen to this on their own and maybe through different devices. There are a lot of nuances captured in the recording process that may not be initially noticed depending on the method of playing it.

  • Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m currently living in a town called Aylesbury in Buckinghamshire, it’s a great central location where everything is readily available. I’m astounded by the level of musicianship that can be found in and around the town, there are some fantastic local bands and solo artists that can be found in great venues such as The White Swan, The Green Man and Shoot Pool. Everybody’s superb in supporting each other in the area, whether it’s a venue offering an open bar to starting musicians or more established bands helping out on numerous charity events.

  • Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

I’d definitely recommend having a listen to Harry Quinn, he’s a very smooth vocalist with some crazy percussive guitar skills the likes of which you see rarely. Also for country fans I’d suggest checking out A Little Bit Country, they’ve been working tirelessly to complete their new album and have a fantastic work ethic whether on stage or off. My friends in Carvell are making some very big leaps and they are the essence of musicians melded together to enfold a bigger picture. The list really does go on but I very much enjoy those guys.

  • Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music

I’m active on the Facebook and Twitter page, I love hearing from people whether it’s music related or otherwise. I’d encourage anyone to get in touch, it may take me a while to respond but I make every effort to do so at the first opportunity. Alternatively the main hub is on www.ravingwild.co.uk – there are links to social media or a contact form which puts an email directly into my inbox.

Underbelly2

Leave a Reply

