Byron Major – INTERVIEW

  1. How did you get your initial start in music?

I first performed on stage professionally at the age of 10, when I joined the Drakensberg Boys’ Choir. We performed both locally around South Africa, as well internationally in destinations like the UK. In my final year at high school, I entered the SA Idols competition, and made it to the Top 24. I was also requested to perform on the primary morning programmes of our national television as part of promoting one of the projects of my high school. There were various other performing opportunities presented to me such as performing at events of one of the country’s largest ICT companies.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

My ultimate dream is to perform my music to audiences around the world, and to write as well as record music that carves its place in our global pop culture forever.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I’ve been writing music since the age of 12 and won a song writing competition at the Drakensberg Boys Choir School.During the same year I recorded my first song at a recording studio near my home which I still listen to today and hope to have it re-produced and re-recorded in the near future. I remember saving my pocket money to record my songs at this studio.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Michael Jackson, Mozart and the Beatles are my 3 biggest influencers. I grew up in Cape Town listening to MJ because my mother is a huge MJ fan. Mozart’s Requiem is possibly my favourite musical work, and the Beatles’ repertoire is something I learnt to respect after studying their music and being in a Beatles ensemble at Berklee College of Music. All these musicians have one thing in common, and that’s the heart and soul that they ploughed into their music is unprecedented.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

I wrote the song a while ago but at the end of 2015 decided to finalise it for release in 2016. It was surreal that Andy Whitmore, a multi-platinum selling producer was keen to work with me. I, with my mom and uncle, took an 11-hour flight from Johannesburg to London – from the sunny skies and heat of the South African summer season to the cold of the UK, to record May Flower with Andy Whitmore at his Greystoke Studio.

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

The local scene in South Africa gets more and more vibrant every year with exciting new music on showcase, everything from pop to kwaito, house to dance. And therefore to watch a show every now and then is essential in keeping my creative juices flowing. My manager, who’s also my mom, and I enjoy visiting a cozy venue near our home to catch some interesting acts.

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

AKA and Black Coffee are doing very well on the local scene. AKA is a rapper and Black Coffee is a DJ who does house-music.

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I’m on all main social media platforms and look forward to connecting with you. Here are some links where you can hear more of my music and follow my journey:

https://soundcloud.com/byronmajor

https://www.facebook.com/mayartjustifyourreality 

https://twitter.com/byronmajor13

https://www.instagram.com/byron_major/

ByronMajor-6

Leave a Reply

