Rachel Myall – Interview

How did you get your initial start in music?

I used to front a folk pop band called Cymbeline (which no one could pronounce!) and while recording some demo tracks at The Premises in Hackney we met a producer setting up his own label who wanted to work with us.  We worked with him for some years actually, and I learnt so much during that time. But I eventually decided to part ways and do things for myself and by myself. Which led to the recording of my debut solo EP Science!

What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To create something beautiful, that matters, that people enjoy and connect with, that is respected and appreciated. And collaborating with many different musicians is also a big aim of mine – I’d love to get some drum and base remixes down!

How long have you been writing your own music?

Over 10 years – ultimately, I love storytelling, so I started out by writing poems and short stories and it grew from there.

I don’t read or write music or play an instrument so the creative process is an interesting one. I have taught myself to write in my own style. Usually a lyric and the beginning of a melody will go round and round my head for ages, and then the rest of the song will suddenly come together all at once. Once I have the lyrics, melody, structure and rhythm I build up the music in my head – I can hear the riffs, the harmonies – and then work with friends and session musicians to bring the ideas to life.

Who are your top three influences and why?

Dolly Parton – an amazing story teller, and hilarious on stage

Tim Buckley – beautiful, romantic, melancholy early songs

Adele – everyone probably says this but she is fantastic at giving her all to the audience and pulling at people’s heartstrings!

Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

This song is about the inner struggles and doubts that a relationship can cause – ultimately it is about being afraid to show the real you, in case you drive away the person you love. Which I think everyone can relate to in some way or another. It’s pretty ‘wearing your heart on your sleeve’ kind of stuff!

A random fact: I wandered round the streets of London for hours writing this song. A recent fling had just come to an end and it really got me thinking about past relationships. The first line refers to something that an ex boyfriend would always say to me – ‘you’re so sweet’ – and I realised he didn’t really know me at all. I walked from Kings Cross to south of the river and didn’t get on the tube until I’d finished it.

Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m London-based – living in Hackney but have gigged all over the city and love the Troubadour in West London. Despite its weighty heritage (some HUGE names have played there) the venue continues to actively support new music and the team there treat all performers however young or nervous with fairness and respect.

Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

There are so many amazing people out there! One of my favourite bands is actually from Brighton originally but heavily involved in the city’s music scene – Peggy Sue. Amazing female vocalists, beautiful harmonies, catchy tunes. And the band obviously take such joy from making music.

Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

Leave a Reply

