RONOC – INTERVIEW

  1. How did you get your initial start in music? 

It started at the age of 12 when I first asked for and got an electric guitar for my birthday, on the condition that I did have lessons. A few years in, at the age of 15 going on 16, I started taking it more seriously and joined my first covers band called “strangely attractive” and got my first gigging experience, this was when I knew this is what I wanted to do with my life.

  1. What would be your ultimate aim in the industry?

To have a long lasting, sustainable career making my own music, keeping performing live and recording until my body gets too old and stops me.

  1. How long have you been writing your own music?

I wrote my first song at 16 and have collaborated and written individually ever since, so around 7 years.

  1. Who are your top three influences and why?

Linah Is – For a birthday three years ago, Linah bought me a leather songwriting book, as I was always mentioning how I wanted to write more songs and find my sound… She left a message in the cover that says ” Here’s a leather songwriting book for all your no.1 hits! – Will always love you, bestie 4 life! “. Since then, i took my songwriting very seriously… I wouldn’t be the artist I am today without her support.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – I’ve always been a fan. As a kid, I remember listening to the ‘Californication’ album in the car with my Dad, singing (Very badly) at the top of our voices… Then seeing them live inspired me and I’ve followed them ever since.

My life experiences – I suppose it’s not a person but without my past I wouldn’t have any stories and material to write about.

  1. Is there anything you would like people to know about your current release?

My current release is “Battling On” and it is a charity single for three charities I support local to where I live…

I have a new song called “No More” coming soon… check out the video when its live..

  1. Where are you based and what’s your local scene like? Any favourite venues?

I’m based in Loughborough, so mainly gig in Leicester which is local to me. The local scene is great, but a lot smaller than when I was living in London…

  1. Who else can you recommend from your local scene for people to have a listen to?

James Cull and The Black Storm Nation

  1. Give our readers a round up of where they can find you online and hear more of your music.

I’m online at www.ronocmusic.comfacebook.com/ronocmusic  – Twitter @ronocmusic – Soundcloud.com/ronocmusic – I also have an EP and Single out on iTunes, Spotify etc .  My next single “No More” is coming soon…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

